The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums

Showing results 1 to 25 of 500
Search took 0.04 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: Tru_in_Blu
Forum: Softball Tue Sep 10, 2019, 10:42am
Replies: 13
Views: 227
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Well, as described, there was only 1 collision....

Well, as described, there was only 1 collision. It happened with a fielder who was not in possession of the ball and a base runner who had not interfered with a thrown ball.

I'll agree with the...
Forum: Softball Mon Aug 26, 2019, 02:19pm
Replies: 26
Views: 548
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
I'm another that does not work LL sanction. ...

I'm another that does not work LL sanction.

I know very little about their rules, but simply based on this string, some of their thinking seems logically fallacious.

To not charge the pitcher a...
Forum: Softball Tue Aug 13, 2019, 12:45pm
Replies: 13
Views: 298
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
I only work 2 sanctions. You state "almost every...

I only work 2 sanctions. You state "almost every rule set" - does that mean you're aware of one/some that don't treat this as a HR?
Forum: Softball Mon Aug 12, 2019, 01:07pm
Replies: 13
Views: 298
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
TB21, my book has 2(a) "the hit is a live, ground...

TB21, my book has 2(a) "the hit is a live, ground ball." That's for the one that deflects off the top of the fence and lands in the outfield.

If it's the one where the ball hits the fence bounces...
Forum: Softball Mon Aug 12, 2019, 12:57pm
Replies: 13
Views: 298
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Or, Settles (or is touched) on or over fair...

Or,

Settles (or is touched) on or over fair territory.

;)
Forum: Softball Sun Aug 11, 2019, 08:16pm
Replies: 13
Views: 298
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
But the ball is no longer considered "in flight"...

But the ball is no longer considered "in flight" once it touches the ground, an object, or a person other than a player.

So once the ball hits the top of the fence, it is no longer considered "in...
Forum: Softball Sun Aug 11, 2019, 08:06pm
Replies: 13
Views: 298
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Are you sure the "touching part" is what really...

Are you sure the "touching part" is what really matters?

The rule states "settles or is touched on or over fair territory...

So theoretically, and maybe physically, the bottom of the ball could...
Forum: Softball Sat Aug 10, 2019, 11:57am
Replies: 10
Views: 258
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
I think we've discussed at least the first...

I think we've discussed at least the first scenario on this board at one point.

The first is a case of OBS, and the runner(s) would be awarded the base(s) they would have reached without the OBS....
Forum: Softball Thu Aug 01, 2019, 01:08pm
Replies: 2
Views: 151
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
I played in the era when many uniforms were white...

I played in the era when many uniforms were white and so were the balls.

Maybe my batting average would have been higher if'n I wasn't put at such a disadvantage! :rolleyes:
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 22, 2019, 05:34pm
Replies: 23
Views: 424
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
But in this case, the fielder did not miss a ball...

But in this case, the fielder did not miss a ball at all. She was in the process of making a play which is an attempt by a defensive player to retire an offensive player.

How long is the defender...
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 22, 2019, 05:29pm
Replies: 23
Views: 424
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
From the OP: "The ball is released well before...

From the OP: "The ball is released well before the runner contacts F6."

I'm reading that as a couple of seconds, maybe three seconds, after F6 made the throw to F5. So in theory, unless F6 floated...
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 22, 2019, 03:32pm
Replies: 23
Views: 424
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Interested to hear about these case plays and...

Interested to hear about these case plays and such. I don't do NCAA so don't know if there are similarities to USA/NFHS.

In the INT threads, it's often mentioned that a runner can't just go "poof"...
Forum: Softball Wed Jul 17, 2019, 04:11pm
Replies: 6
Views: 384
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Friendly debate on sell out call on DP

I recall at a NUS that it was recommended that we give the sell out for the back end of a double play.

A few umpires were having this discussion.

When do you use the sell out?


On a...
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 15, 2019, 10:27am
Replies: 22
Views: 648
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Many softball officials don't know the rules of...

Many softball officials don't know the rules of softball. I can't believe this select group of folks know baseball rules any better.

So get the group that doesn't know the rules in the sport...
Forum: Softball Thu Jul 11, 2019, 10:27am
Replies: 21
Views: 780
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
From NFHS 7-4-2 PENALTY: The ball is dead...

From NFHS 7-4-2

PENALTY: The ball is dead immediately. All runners must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. When the illegal bat is an altered or nonapproved bat, the batter and...
Forum: Softball Tue Jul 09, 2019, 08:39pm
Replies: 22
Views: 648
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Agreed. We spiraled off on many tangents. Some...

Agreed. We spiraled off on many tangents. Some more related than others. (So was this a new world's indoor record??) :p

As the original poster, I do agree that this should have been simply ruled...
Forum: Softball Sat Jul 06, 2019, 09:57am
Replies: 22
Views: 648
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
How about 8-7-J-1-F? For USA Softball, it's...

How about 8-7-J-1-F? For USA Softball, it's actually 2 outs.
Forum: Softball Sat Jul 06, 2019, 09:44am
Replies: 22
Views: 648
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
It took a while, but I did finally locate the...

It took a while, but I did finally locate the wording I was looking for.

It is an NFHS rule: 7-4 Batter is out

Art. 13 After hitting or bunting a ball, the bat hits the ball a second time while...
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 01, 2019, 04:20pm
Replies: 22
Views: 648
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Oh, this was most definitely intentional.

Oh, this was most definitely intentional.
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 01, 2019, 04:18pm
Replies: 22
Views: 648
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Not to hijack my own thread, but in your case...

Not to hijack my own thread, but in your case above, if the catcher has the mask in her possession, it's not detached. Secondly, if she throws the mask (or glove) and it hits the ball while in foul...
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 01, 2019, 02:04pm
Replies: 22
Views: 648
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
looking for wording

USA Softball 18U tournament this past weekend. I am on the bases, an inexperienced umpire is PU.

Bases loaded, no outs. Batter hits a ball that is rolling in foul territory towards third base....
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 01, 2019, 09:58am
Replies: 54
Views: 1,540
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
Sorry for the double post. Not even sure how...

Sorry for the double post.

Not even sure how I did that.

Moderator can delete one of them if necessary.
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 01, 2019, 09:53am
Replies: 54
Views: 1,540
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
#1 It may be your opinion the BR did not INT. "In...

#1 It may be your opinion the BR did not INT. "In MY judgment, BR did INT." To each his/her own interpretation.
#2 I think we now have "clarifications" on this. The out occurs once the ball status...
Forum: Softball Sat Jun 29, 2019, 04:47pm
Replies: 16
Views: 412
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
You say to-may'-toe; I say to-mah'-to. I...

You say to-may'-toe; I say to-mah'-to.

I don't think your particular coin has 2 sides - both sides of your coin result in INT. Very fair! :rolleyes:
Forum: Softball Fri Jun 28, 2019, 06:25am
Replies: 54
Views: 1,540
Posted By Tru_in_Blu
TB21 - haven't heard if you've reconsidered this...

TB21 - haven't heard if you've reconsidered this scenario. Thoughts?

Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Ted, I'm late to the party on this hypothetical, but I think KR's ruling is accurate,...
Showing results 1 to 25 of 500

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1