The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums

Showing results 1 to 25 of 500
Search took 0.04 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: chapmaja
Forum: Softball Yesterday, 08:58pm
Replies: 15
Views: 339
Posted By chapmaja
Advancing to second. In my judgement I need...

Advancing to second.

In my judgement I need to see a step in the direction of second base to indicate the runner is going to second, or I will assume they have just drifted off the line when over...
Forum: Softball Yesterday, 08:44pm
Replies: 15
Views: 339
Posted By chapmaja
I completely agree. When she made the move to go...

I completely agree. When she made the move to go to second, or give the appearance of going to second, she has made an attempt in my judgement and better get back to 1b before she is tagged, or she...
Forum: Softball Yesterday, 08:42pm
Replies: 41
Views: 719
Posted By chapmaja
Watching the video I think the first base ump did...

Watching the video I think the first base ump did come in an was calling interference on the play. I think he was making the call live on the field but did not do so in a manner that would draw...
Forum: Softball Yesterday, 08:38pm
Replies: 41
Views: 719
Posted By chapmaja
Fair foul status

I guess I need to be included in the group which says the ball has no status fair / foul until is actually meets the definition of a fair ball or a foul ball by the rule book. We may come to an...
Forum: Softball Thu Jun 13, 2019, 11:51pm
Replies: 41
Views: 719
Posted By chapmaja
The part I am having trouble with on this is the...

The part I am having trouble with on this is the interference part. Can someone please post a reference to why this was called interference by the batter runner (retired batter). She certainly does...
Forum: Softball Mon May 27, 2019, 09:44pm
Replies: 23
Views: 623
Posted By chapmaja
There are rules about fixing things and when this...

There are rules about fixing things and when this error (not calling the strike on the swing and miss) was discovered, it was after the second pitch was delivered therefore it could not be corrected....
Forum: Softball Mon May 27, 2019, 09:41pm
Replies: 23
Views: 623
Posted By chapmaja
They can't after the second pitch was thrown. The...

They can't after the second pitch was thrown. The umpire conference happened after the second pitch was thrown. You can't change the call after the second pitch was thrown.

The official box score...
Forum: Softball Mon May 27, 2019, 09:39pm
Replies: 23
Views: 623
Posted By chapmaja
The problem was that the strike WAS NOT CALLED on...

The problem was that the strike WAS NOT CALLED on the first pitch. Therefore everyone in the park except the plate umpire was WRONG by having a 1 strike count. Since a strike was NEVER CALLED on the...
Forum: Softball Sun May 26, 2019, 05:20pm
Replies: 6
Views: 181
Posted By chapmaja
The issue is if they want to start an inning with...

The issue is if they want to start an inning with an out or end an inning with an out. Depending on the situation, the desire might be different. For example, if a runner is on third and tries coming...
Forum: Softball Sun May 26, 2019, 04:35pm
Replies: 23
Views: 623
Posted By chapmaja
I thought she handled it pretty well. I think the...

I thought she handled it pretty well. I think the crew did a good job of explaining what happened and that they (the PU) had screwed up. You can see the U2 telling her "that's the rule" which has to...
Forum: Softball Sun May 26, 2019, 04:32pm
Replies: 23
Views: 623
Posted By chapmaja
The problem is the rules don't allow the fixing...

The problem is the rules don't allow the fixing of the thing that was screwed up in this sequence. For that first pitch to be changed to a strike it would have to be appealed prior to the release of...
Forum: Softball Sun May 26, 2019, 04:28pm
Replies: 23
Views: 623
Posted By chapmaja
Responses in red next to your post.

Responses in red next to your post.
Forum: Basketball Sat May 25, 2019, 04:36pm
Replies: 68
Views: 1,187
Posted By chapmaja
Here is how I would look at it. R1 is...

Here is how I would look at it.

R1 is dribbling and has established a complete position in the front court. He then takes a step backwards during his dribble and steps across the center line into...
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 04:26pm
Replies: 23
Views: 623
Posted By chapmaja
I see this did not hurt the crew too bad. The PU...

I see this did not hurt the crew too bad. The PU is working a Super this weekend as is the U3.
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 04:24pm
Replies: 23
Views: 623
Posted By chapmaja
The problem is that you can't fix it because it...

The problem is that you can't fix it because it wasn't called in the first place. It was a mistake by the PU.

This is why PU's should always give a count after a non-standard play when the ball...
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 04:19pm
Replies: 1
Views: 159
Posted By chapmaja
Was this handled correctly?

I had this during the week in a Co-wRECk game.

R1 at 3rd, R2 at 2nd, R3 at third, 0 out. B4 hits a pop up on the infield which both F2 and F3 have could catch with ordinary effort (if they...
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 11:22am
Replies: 9
Views: 380
Posted By chapmaja
I'm glad she has the ability to learn from her...

I'm glad she has the ability to learn from her mistakes. I've witnessed too many situations where potentially good officials make a mistake and get so beat up about it by coaches and parents that...
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 11:18am
Replies: 28
Views: 726
Posted By chapmaja
This reminds me of a play from several years ago...

This reminds me of a play from several years ago where I almost had to toss the 1b coach.

R1 on first. B2 hits a ground ball to short where F6 bobbles the ball. F6 gains possession and dives...
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 11:04am
Replies: 6
Views: 181
Posted By chapmaja
I don't do NSA, but I would say that the auto-out...

I don't do NSA, but I would say that the auto-out would not occur until all playing action from #9's at bat ends and #10 should be entering the batters box. So yes, the tag up is absolutely legal and...
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 11:00am
Replies: 0
Views: 69
Posted By chapmaja
Batter Interference #2

I don't want to hijack the other BI thread, so I will post this here.

A couple years ago I saw this play a few times.

R1 on third. Count on the batter is less than 3 balls and less than 2...
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 10:57am
Replies: 10
Views: 412
Posted By chapmaja
There was a video from a high school game a few...

There was a video from a high school game a few years ago about this. IIRC the situation was as follows.

R1 on 2nd, B2 at the plate. R1 is attempting to steal on the play. Pitch comes in F2...
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 08:22am
Replies: 4
Views: 213
Posted By chapmaja
They did, and that ball never hit the knob. You...

They did, and that ball never hit the knob. You could see from the damage on her hand that it was a very clear hit off her hand.
Forum: Softball Fri May 24, 2019, 11:21pm
Replies: 4
Views: 213
Posted By chapmaja
Ucla - jmu hpb?

With UCLA up 6-1 late in the game against JMU tonight, the pitch hits the JMU batter on the hand. She goes down to first base, but it told to come back.

The announcers (talking heads from ESPN),...
Forum: Softball Wed May 15, 2019, 01:34pm
Replies: 16
Views: 720
Posted By chapmaja
Did he call it a dead ball immediately...

Did he call it a dead ball immediately (incorrectly)? That is the only way I see not allowing the advancement of the runner.

I don't have the 2019 book handy, but from the 2016 book (and...
Forum: Softball Tue Apr 09, 2019, 12:46pm
Replies: 9
Views: 369
Posted By chapmaja
I would agree with the replay call in Rec League...

I would agree with the replay call in Rec League ball depending on the level (age) of the players.

This is where the purpose of the league play does become important. Is it as a teaching the game...
Showing results 1 to 25 of 500

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1