The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally posted by mbcrowder
I don't know how one would adequately define "The fumble rolled to B-5 and will not be able to roll into the endzone but is still rolling." How do you know a ball will not be able to roll into the endzone unless it comes to a complete stop? A ball has a funny shape, and fields are not level.
First off I'm not sure where you are getting the rules you are quoting as Rule 8 under NF only goes to 8-5-4. Beside that the rules you are stating I would agree have the same basic premise of the ones in my book. As for how do you know if a ball won't reach the EZ it can be very easy sometimes. This was not a well manicured field and the grass was probably 3 inches tall. It was very obvious that the ball would not cover another 15 feet on its own but would have stopped in about 1 or 2 feet. Like I said before other officials said that we should have ruled touchback because neither team would have questioned that call.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1