The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2003, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13
An interesting thing happened in my Friday H.S. Varstiy game. During a try, the K team placed the kicking tee on the 8 yard line instead of the 10. It made for some interseting discussion. Is Roughing the snapper off? Can they score the 1 point try from the tee?
Here are some of the rules references.


2003 NFHS Rule 9-4-5 page 57
"Roughing the snapper. A defensive player shall not charge directly into the snapper when the offensive team is in a scrimmage-kick formation."

hmmm.. what is the defination of a scrimmage-kick formation??

2003 NFHS Rule 2-14-2 page 21
"A scrimmage-kick formation is a formation with at least one player 7 yards or more behind the netural zone and in posistion to receive the long snap. No player may be in posistion to receive a hand-to-hand snap from between the snapper's legs."


I beleive that the "snapper protection" would therefore be off. How about the score? I can't find anything to say that a field-goal/try must be from a scrimmage-kick formation.

Also, how would you call this? Safety would say call the roughing anyway, but the rules wouldn't support it.

Any thoughts??





__________________
Mike W
Wyoming

The ball is alive until it is dead -- past crew member
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1