The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 03, 2003, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Exclamation Back in 1987...

Quote:
Originally posted by lawref
The Referee has the authority to start the clock on the ready in this situation if he determines the act was done by the ball carrier as a means to conserve time or make a travesty of the game. I would probably start the clock on the ready in this situation.
REPLY: Remember that the R has the authority to order the clock started or stopped only if the team illegally attempts to conserve or consume time. Since a backward pass OOB is not illegal in Federation, there's no justification for the R to invoke NF 3-6-3.

Interestingly, prior to 1987, 3-6-3 did not include the word "illegally," meaning that the R could have ordered the clock started. But in 1987, the editors added the stipulation that only illegal acts could justify invocation of 3-6-3.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1