The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   I call this a heads up play. Tell me if you agree (https://forum.officiating.com/football/9903-i-call-heads-up-play-tell-me-if-you-agree.html)

lawref Wed Sep 03, 2003 06:31am

The Referee has the authority to start the clock on the ready in this situation if he determines the act was done by the ball carrier as a means to conserve time or make a travesty of the game. I would probably start the clock on the ready in this situation.

Theisey Wed Sep 03, 2003 06:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by lawref
The Referee has the authority to start the clock on the ready in this situation if he determines the act was done by the ball carrier as a means to conserve time or make a travesty of the game. I would probably start the clock on the ready in this situation.
Except in this specific situation, you cannot do this. Until a rule change is enacted by the NF, this is a perfectly legal way for a player to stop the clock no matter what the reason.

The NCAA has recognized this as being unfair and has rules to deal with it. The NF does not. Don't go applying some Ref can do what he wants rule in this situation.

Forksref Wed Sep 03, 2003 07:05am

This does not fall into the category of a 'travesty.' I would not start the clock until the snap.

mikesears Wed Sep 03, 2003 07:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by lawref
The Referee has the authority to start the clock on the ready in this situation if he determines the act was done by the ball carrier as a means to conserve time or make a travesty of the game. I would probably start the clock on the ready in this situation.
It is just as legal for a player to throw a backwards pass out of bounds as it is for a player to run backwards out of bounds.


Bob M. Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:49am

Back in 1987...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by lawref
The Referee has the authority to start the clock on the ready in this situation if he determines the act was done by the ball carrier as a means to conserve time or make a travesty of the game. I would probably start the clock on the ready in this situation.
REPLY: Remember that the R has the authority to order the clock started or stopped only if the team <b><u>illegally</u></b> attempts to conserve or consume time. Since a backward pass OOB is not illegal in Federation, there's no justification for the R to invoke NF 3-6-3.

Interestingly, prior to 1987, 3-6-3 did not include the word "illegally," meaning that the R could have ordered the clock started. But in 1987, the editors added the stipulation that only <u>illegal</u> acts could justify invocation of 3-6-3.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1