The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Advancing fumbles......... (https://forum.officiating.com/football/9868-advancing-fumbles.html)

ump76 Fri Aug 29, 2003 08:53am

What are the rules in NFHS, NCAA, and the NFL for offensive
teams advancing fumbles behind and beyond the LOS.

BktBallRef Fri Aug 29, 2003 08:59am

NFHS - there are nor restrictions, except those for a planned loose ball.

Schmidt MJ Fri Aug 29, 2003 12:59pm

In NCAA there are no restrictions on 1st,2nd or 3rd down. But on 4th down the only offensive player who can advance a fumble is the fumbler. If a teammate catches or recovers a 4th down fumble the ball is dead immediately whether it is behind or beyond the spot of the fumble. Also, If a fumble goes OOB on any down before it is recovered, it is returned to the spot of the fumble unless the OOB spot is behind the spot of the fumble.

Bob M. Tue Sep 02, 2003 03:07pm

REPLY: And in all three codes the <u>defense</u> can always advance a recovered (or caught) fumble.

FBullock Tue Sep 02, 2003 03:13pm

NF - Except on an extra point try.

Bob M. Wed Sep 03, 2003 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by FBullock
NF - Except on an extra point try.
REPLY: Correct! I neglected to mention that.

Uncle Ernie Wed Sep 03, 2003 05:20pm

adding on to SchimdtMJ post
 
The restrictions for advancing a fumble under NCAA rules are close to what Schmidt posted, however, there are some other items to consider IMHO...

The defense is never restricted on advancing a fumle.

The offense is restricted in advancing a fumble on fourth down <i>as well as a try</i>. During fourth down or on a try, only the fumbler can advance a fumble, providing there has been no change of possession. If B gains and then A subsequently gains possession again during the down the "4th down fumble rule" no longer applies (does that make sense??).

Another Team A member may recover the fumble but it is dead when recovered (providing there is no change of possession). If the fumble is recovered in advance of the spot of the fumble, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble. If it is recovered behind the spot of the fumble it remains at the spot of recovery.

Schmidt was right on about the OOB and a fumble. Keep in mind that when a forward fumble goes OOB, the clock will start on the ready. If backwards and OOB, the clock will start on the snap.

Schmidt MJ Wed Sep 03, 2003 05:50pm

Uncle Ernie,

Thanks for clarifying. You are correct that all of the details you mentioned need to be considered. I simply gave a quick and easy answer to the post but neglected to go into the details in my post. Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1