The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Taunting (https://forum.officiating.com/football/98536-taunting.html)

icallem10 Mon Oct 20, 2014 02:31pm

Taunting
 
breakaway running play down the seam, LJ turns to follow runner and runs into a coach for the offense at the numbers, he flags the coach and continues to officiate the play. Runner scores, LJ tells Referee what infraction the penalty flag is for. Referee gives preliminary signal, defensive coach accepts penalty and it is enforced from the spot of the foul. Offense scored a few plays later, and it didn't change the outcome of the game. Question is only a USL foul allows the score ? correct ?

bballref3966 Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:55am

Newbie football guy but...

In NFHS penalties for unsportsmanlike conduct fouls are always enforced from the succeeding spot.

I'm pretty sure all nonplayer fouls in NCAA are all enforced from the succeeding spot.

Score should count, enforce from succeeding spot, either try or kickoff at option of offended team.

MD Longhorn Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:44pm

What could "the spot of the foul" possibly mean on a penalty against a coach? In any rule set?

IAUMP Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:58pm

Not Taunting
 
Per rule 10.4.8 this is not taunting, but " Unintentional contact between a nonplayer and an official in the restricted area while the ball is live." The penalty for which is "Unintentional contact with a game official in the restricted area. Nonplayer foul (Art. 8) – (S38; 29). For the first offense, 15 yards from the succeeding spot. For the second offense (S38- 29- 47) – 15 yards from the succeeding spot and disqualification of the head coach."

JasonLJ Tue Oct 21, 2014 01:18pm

Score should have counted and then penalty could/would have been accepted on the try or kickoff.

HLin NC Tue Oct 21, 2014 01:36pm

Quote:

runs into a coach for the offense at the numbers
, and
Quote:

Unintentional contact between a nonplayer and an official in the restricted area
I've never seen numbers in the restricted area. How did we get a post entitled "Taunting" out of this topic?

Coach is on the field- 9-6-4a indicates it is Illegal Participation for a. When any player, replaced player, substitute, coach, athletic trainer or other attendant enters and participates during a down. . Live ball foul-basic spot
If the non-players participation has an influence on play., IP should be ruled.

Its unsportsmanlike (9-8-1 for) i. Being on the field except as a substitute or replaced player, this a non-player foul and would be assessed from the succeeding spot. Given in the OP enforcement was from the spot of the foul, then IP was apparently ruled.

Welpe Tue Oct 21, 2014 03:36pm

In NCAA this is an unfair act and theoretically could be penalized with whatever the Referee deemed equitable. The standard treatment seems to be treat as a deadball foul and enforce from the succeeding spot.

ajmc Tue Oct 21, 2014 06:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 942137)
In NCAA this is an unfair act and theoretically could be penalized with whatever the Referee deemed equitable. The standard treatment seems to be treat as a deadball foul and enforce from the succeeding spot.

Under the NFHS code, "nonplayer" fouls are designated as "Succeeding spot" (Basic spot) enforcement (NFHS 10-5-c), so the result of the play would stand, in this example a TD, with a choice of enforcement on the try or subsequent KO at the offended teams discretion.

bigjohn Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:44am

Pretty sad if this was a Varsity football game that a crew blew the enforcement this badly. Even though it didn't change the outcome, it sure could have. :mad::mad::mad:

zebra2955 Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:55am

LJ runs into coach at the numbers?

Is this a typo?

Why were both of them at the numbers?

What's a coach doing that far on field?
Why was the LJ that far on field?

OKREF Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:03pm

Would anyone eject the coach for this on the first offense?

bwburke94 Sat Oct 25, 2014 09:39pm

Only if the coach was Mike Tomlin.

bisonlj Sun Oct 26, 2014 12:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zebra2955 (Post 942392)
LJ runs into coach at the numbers?

Is this a typo?

Why were both of them at the numbers?

What's a coach doing that far on field?
Why was the LJ that far on field?

I had something like this once. I was working LJ and the team on my sideline had a huge fumble recovery and return. I'm trying to catch up and coaches got very excited and move on to the field. I understand it, but it's still not allowed. I tried to run around them and only get a sideline warning (technically not correct) and near the bottom of the numbers I was hit by a coach and knocked down. I flagged it for 15 yards and the head coach went nuts. He became very passive-aggressive the rest of the game reminding everyone to stay well off the field, because I needed more room than most.

PATRICK Sun Dec 07, 2014 07:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 942413)
I had something like this once. I was working LJ and the team on my sideline had a huge fumble recovery and return. I'm trying to catch up and coaches got very excited and move on to the field. I understand it, but it's still not allowed. I tried to run around them and only get a sideline warning (technically not correct) and near the bottom of the numbers I was hit by a coach and knocked down. I flagged it for 15 yards and the head coach went nuts. He became very passive-aggressive the rest of the game reminding everyone to stay well off the field, because I needed more room than most.

That, to me, sounds like a coach that was begging to be DQ'd!

LeRoy Sun Dec 07, 2014 07:48pm

Yes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 942394)
Would anyone eject the coach for this on the first offense?

If the Coach was from Douglass High School in OKC :eek::eek::rolleyes::D:D

OKREF Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeRoy (Post 945983)
If the Coach was from Douglass High School in OKC :eek::eek::rolleyes::D:D

He didn't get ejected for it. It's a mess here. Injunction hearing is Thursday. Class 3A has one finalist, and 3 schools waiting to see who will be in the other semi final.

ajmc Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zebra2955 (Post 942392)
LJ runs into coach at the numbers?

Is this a typo?

Why were both of them at the numbers?

What's a coach doing that far on field?
Why was the LJ that far on field?

If you are fortunate enought to work in an environment using 6 or 7 man crews, pause and thank your lucky stars. Unfortunately, there are many of us (perhaps a majority) who still work in 5, or even sometimes 4 man, crew configurations.

As for a coach, there is no reason WHATSOEVER, for any coach to be, "at the numbers" unless he has been specifically invited to be there by the Referee.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1