The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Opi? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/98482-opi.html)

Welpe Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 941364)
But you already have a rule for that re ineligible receiver downfield,

Which is a much lighter penalty than offensive pass interference. As you can see from the case play, an ineligible blocking down field is guilty of multiple fouls. Restrictions against blocking down field apply to all A players, not just ineligible players. An eligible receiver blocking down field on a forward pass play is also guilty of OPI.

Robert Goodman Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 941366)
Which is a much lighter penalty than offensive pass interference. As you can see from the case play, an ineligible blocking down field is guilty of multiple fouls. Restrictions against blocking down field apply to all A players, not just ineligible players. An eligible receiver blocking down field on a forward pass play is also guilty of OPI.

Then you've been citing the wrong rules section. The blocking per se is covered under 9-3, "illegal blocking", specifically 9-3-1(b).

Welpe Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:44pm

Actually we haven't but I'm glad you've found more evidence disproving your intereptation on your own. Notice that 9-3-1-b penalty references 7-5-10 and that the case play is numbered 7.5.10.

Consider 9-3-1 as examples of illegal blocks because all of those are defined as particular fouls in other rules (Rule 6, Rule 7 and further in Rule 9).

Juxone Thu Oct 09, 2014 02:05pm

Opi --
 
It was my understanding that any lineman such as "Lineman A77 is blocking lineman B56 5 yards beyond the neutral zone on a pass that crosses the NZ." Is an illegal receiver down field --- but its NOT OPI unless he actually interferes with .....

HLin NC Thu Oct 09, 2014 02:38pm

Quote:

but its NOT OPI unless he actually interferes with
And just what would blocking him be:confused:
Remember, all of B is eligible.

Robert Goodman Fri Oct 10, 2014 01:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 941392)
Actually we haven't but I'm glad you've found more evidence disproving your intereptation on your own. Notice that 9-3-1-b penalty references 7-5-10 and that the case play is numbered 7.5.10.

I know, I forgot that it's still called "pass interference" even with the reference under "illegal blocking". That's been true for a very long time, but somehow I'd hallucinated that it'd been reclassified a few years ago to cover separately pre-pass and intra-pass interference by A.

Robert Goodman Fri Oct 10, 2014 01:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HLin NC (Post 941401)
And just what would blocking him be:confused:
Remember, all of B is eligible.

But they way they wrote it (and they wrote it a long time ago) is misleading. it would be clearer if they simply said that blocking an opponent downfield was illegal under the circumstances.

Welpe Sun Oct 19, 2014 02:28pm

The OPI call in the FSU - Notre Dame game last night was the perfect example of blocking down field being illegal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1