The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Pylon Play (https://forum.officiating.com/football/98441-pylon-play.html)

swkansasref33 Fri Sep 26, 2014 09:22am

Pylon Play
 
FED Rules: Receiver is in the endzone, jumps up to catch a pass. He has control of the ball, and his first point of contact is his left foot hitting the pylon, then he comes down out of bounds. Is it a legal catch or no catch?

Partner rules catch, states that just like the ball hitting the front pylon while in player control, the back pylon should be ruled the same.

I know what I think, but I was unable to find a rule reference. Any takers?:cool:

jTheUmp Fri Sep 26, 2014 09:48am

Assuming they're placed correctly, the pylons are out of bounds, so this should be an incomplete pass.

In regards to "the ball hitting the front pylon while in player control" part, the interpretation on those plays is that the ball breaks the plane of the end zone just prior to touching the pylon. (case 8.2.1).

MD Longhorn Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by swkansasref33 (Post 940710)
FED Rules: Receiver is in the endzone, jumps up to catch a pass. He has control of the ball, and his first point of contact is his left foot hitting the pylon, then he comes down out of bounds. Is it a legal catch or no catch?

Partner rules catch, states that just like the ball hitting the front pylon while in player control, the back pylon should be ruled the same.

I know what I think, but I was unable to find a rule reference. Any takers?:cool:

When his foot hits the front of the pylon, his foot is in bounds in the air, as in the case your partner cites... however... to have a catch you must have a foot in bounds ON THE GROUND. In your situation, he does not. Incomplete.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1