The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Fair Catch (https://forum.officiating.com/football/98393-fair-catch.html)

MTUMP Mon Sep 15, 2014 05:32pm

Fair Catch
 
B20 Signals for fair catch on scrimmage kick, then....
A) let's kick bounce and recovers.
B) muff's kick, then recovers.

In both cases does covering official blow dead after recovery? Are there free kick options in these cases for B?

Jimmie24 Mon Sep 15, 2014 05:48pm

Rule 4-2-2g will help you.

Casebook 6.5.1a will also.

ajmc Mon Sep 15, 2014 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTUMP (Post 940177)
B20 Signals for fair catch on scrimmage kick, then....
A) let's kick bounce and recovers.
B) muff's kick, then recovers.

In both cases does covering official blow dead after recovery? Are there free kick options in these cases for B?

By signalling for a Fair Catch, A gives up all rights to advance the ball after possessing it. The play is blown dead as soon as A secures possession. B has no options in either case.

Welpe Tue Sep 16, 2014 07:55am

Assuming that in b) when the kick was muffed, it did not touch the ground, then Team B (known as Team R in Fed rules) will have the option to kick a free kick.

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 16, 2014 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 940187)
Assuming that in b) when the kick was muffed, it did not touch the ground, then Team B (known as Team R in Fed rules) will have the option to kick a free kick.

But since he used the word "recovers" and Fed defines that in relation to a ball that's touched the ground....

Welpe Tue Sep 16, 2014 04:05pm

All I'm doing is accounting for the use of common language instead of precise rulebook language.

MTUMP Tue Sep 16, 2014 07:55pm

Welpe, I'm aware of the Rule 2 definitions and did mean to describe the play as the ball hitting the ground. In the case of a muff, I would assume B20 (R20) is a defenseless player until he attempts to recover the ball. Any other guidance on a hit to R20 after a muffed kick?

Rich Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 940221)
But since he used the word "recovers" and Fed defines that in relation to a ball that's touched the ground....

Pedantic does not equal helpful...or even necessarily clear.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1