![]() |
|
|
|||
Unrestricted lineman blocking (a little) downfield
A snaps from B's 21 yard line and LB B44 steps up in zone/spy coverage standing at B's 18 yardline when unrestricted A60 moves and blocks him at the knees from a 9 o'clock position just as A10 throws a touchdown pass from within the pocket to the left sideline.
Any foul on this play? I called A60 an inelligible downfield, but am now thinking I should have passed on it. |
|
|||
Assuming NFHS rules
First, I guess I have to ask, what is an unrestricted lineman?
Unless the B44 was on the LOS and in the FBZ at the snap and the ball is still in the FBZ, it would seem you should have called A60 for blocking below the waist. |
|
|||
I'm wondering about that too. The only thing I can think of is, it's not a player who due to league weight limits is not allowed to advance the ball or is restricted as to the positions he can play.
|
|
|||
I don't think we have enough information in the OP to know if this block is legal or not.
Was B44 in the low-blocking zone when the block occurred? (7 yards to either side of the snapper, from 5 yards beyond the NZ back to team A's end line). If so, was the ball still in the low-blocking zone when the block occurred? If both of those are true, then the block was legal. If either one of those is not true, then the block is illegal due to a violation of the "10 o'clock to 2 o'clock" rule. |
|
|||
we have plenty of information
the OP states he is slightly over 3 yards downfield, the qb throws from the pocket, soooo the block occurs within the 5 yards of the NCAA zone, and the ball is still in the zone...so the block is legal, the question was about an ineligible downfield...if it is slightly more than 3 yds I would certainly pass on it...make it a very healthy 3(like 4 or 5)
....also, the block occurs just as the qb throws a td pass...the restrictions end when the ball is released I believe your feelings are correct, you should have passed on it.....don't look for lizards on this type of play, look for big ole honkin alligators....
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Down Lineman being set | pat727 | Football | 14 | Sat Mar 13, 2010 08:14pm |
lineman downfield | raiderfan | Football | 6 | Tue Oct 23, 2007 06:48pm |
3.4.7 - unrestricted area of jersey | jkjenning | Basketball | 6 | Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:45am |
K lineman downfield on punt | Jaysef | Football | 6 | Thu Oct 06, 2005 05:45pm |
Blocking Downfield by Defense | Ed Hickland | Football | 3 | Fri Oct 24, 2003 11:51pm |