The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Receiver forced out of bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/football/9762-receiver-forced-out-bounds.html)

lawref Mon Aug 18, 2003 09:32pm

Where is the NFHS rule regarding a receiver being forced out of bounds by an defender and having the pass ruled complete, even though both feet didn't come down in bounds due to the force-out?

chris s Mon Aug 18, 2003 09:40pm

ONE foot.....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by lawref
Where is the NFHS rule regarding a receiver being forced out of bounds by an defender and having the pass ruled complete, even though both feet didn't come down in bounds due to the force-out?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~
Is a catch...now do ya got DPI???? Judgement baby!!!!!

lawref Mon Aug 18, 2003 09:45pm

rule number
 
Does anyone know the rule number for this (NFHS)?

Warrenkicker Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:36pm

Well first off we only need 1 foot inbounds to have a completion. So I will assume you just mis-typed on the both feet thing. Under 2-4-1 it talks about being prevented from returning to the ground inbounds while maintaining possession.

BktBallRef Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:37pm

2-4-1
A catch is the act of establishing player possession of a live ball which is in flight, and first contacting the ground inbounds or being contacted by an opponent in such a way that he is prevented from returning to the ground inbounds while maintaining possession of the ball.

Theisey Tue Aug 19, 2003 06:42am

Defintions."rule-2".. has answers to a lot of questions.

See Case Book 2.4.1.Situation H.

Not that you would care, but in general that would not be a catch under NCAA rules. He would have to have been held and carried out..

AndrewMcCarthy Tue Aug 19, 2003 08:02am

The Case Book explains this pretty well. Note the comment that says "the added force in the general direction he is moving is not considered a factor affecting his spot of landing."

There was a play on MNF last night that was reviewed by replay and ruled as a completed pass due to the force-out rule- in NFHS this wouldn't apply becuase that force was in the same direction the player was already moving.

Of course- he had one foot in anyway.

w_sohl Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by AndrewMcCarthy
The Case Book explains this pretty well. Note the comment that says "the added force in the general direction he is moving is not considered a factor affecting his spot of landing."

There was a play on MNF last night that was reviewed by replay and ruled as a completed pass due to the force-out rule- in NFHS this wouldn't apply becuase that force was in the same direction the player was already moving.

Of course- he had one foot in anyway.

So am I to assume that, even if the player would have landed in bounds, that if a defender pushes the receiver in the direction of his momentum and that receiver then lands out of bounds it is an incomplete pass? That sounds a little common-senseless.

Theisey Tue Aug 19, 2003 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
[QUOTE
So am I to assume that, even if the player would have landed in bounds, that if a defender pushes the receiver in the direction of his momentum and that receiver then lands out of bounds it is an incomplete pass? That sounds a little common-senseless.

### For NF, you rule this to be complete.
For NCAA you rule incomplete.
For NFL, I don't have a clue.

cowbyfan1 Wed Aug 20, 2003 06:11am

FED - complete if official deems receiver would have gotten 1 foot in without being pushed.
NCAA - incomplete
NFL - complete if official deems BOTH feet would have been in.

AndrewMcCarthy Wed Aug 20, 2003 07:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
FED - complete if official deems receiver would have gotten 1 foot in without being pushed.

Not entirely true. The defender must change the receiver's direction.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1