The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Couple Questions on 12/29 NFL Games (https://forum.officiating.com/football/96895-couple-questions-12-29-nfl-games.html)

bisonlj Mon Dec 30, 2013 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 916309)
I didn't see the play. Did the defensive overload at all impact the kick?

I know that should have no bearing on whether the flag is thrown, but in my view, it has a bearing on whether one could claim it cost the Chiefs the game.

At most, you could say it cost the Chiefs' kicker a cheap chance to make up for a missed 41 yard field goal.

Probably semantics, though.

No, it had no impact on the play at all. Two of the 7 guys were lined up pretty wide but it sounds like that doesn't matter by rule. Based on the comment by the NFL today this is a procedural foul and should be flagged regardless of whether they used it to their advantage.

I agree 100% the actions by the Chargers had no bearing on the result of the play. The Chief's kicker makes the kick and this is not a discussion.

Rich Mon Dec 30, 2013 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 916315)
No, it had no impact on the play at all. Two of the 7 guys were lined up pretty wide but it sounds like that doesn't matter by rule. Based on the comment by the NFL today this is a procedural foul and should be flagged regardless of whether they used it to their advantage.

I agree 100% the actions by the Chargers had no bearing on the result of the play. The Chief's kicker makes the kick and this is not a discussion.

It's a formation foul and, like you said, has nothing to do with advantage / disadvantage.

APG Mon Dec 30, 2013 05:36pm

Here is the wording of the rule for those wondering:

Rule 9, Section 1

DEFENSIVE TEAM FORMATION
Article 3: Defensive Team Formation

(a) When Team A presents a punt, field-goal, or Try Kick formation, a Team B player, who is within one yard of the line of scrimmage, must have his entire body outside the snapper’s shoulder pads at the snap.

(b) When Team A presents a field-goal or Try Kick formation:

(1) No more than six Team B players may be on the line of scrimmage on either side of the snapper at the snap; and

Note: These restrictions do not apply if a team does not present a standard punt, field goal, or Try Kick formation (an equal number of players on the line of scrimmage on either side of the snapper in a tight formation), or if, after the offensive team has assumed a set position, there is a shift, or a player goes in motion.

CT1 Tue Dec 31, 2013 06:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 916291)
There's a high probability he makes it.

Succop had a lousy December. There's no guarantee he makes the rekick.

hbk314 Tue Dec 31, 2013 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 916357)
Succop had a lousy December. There's no guarantee he makes the rekick.

Exactly what I said.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1