The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Alabama/Auburn (https://forum.officiating.com/football/96654-alabama-auburn.html)

OKREF Sat Nov 30, 2013 05:08pm

Alabama/Auburn
 
4:01 in second quarter.

Run initially called TD, replay reversed it. Sure looked liked the ball crossed the goal line as his hand touched the ground out of bounds.

stiffler3492 Sat Nov 30, 2013 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 912340)
4:01 in second quarter.

Run initially called TD, replay reversed it. Sure looked liked the ball crossed the goal line as his hand touched the ground out of bounds.

Agreed, They took it frame by frame and it sure looked like the right call on the field.

InsideTheStripe Sat Nov 30, 2013 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 912344)
Agreed, They took it frame by frame and it sure looked like the right call on the field.

Didn't care for that reversal. Or the reversal at 1:40.

OKREF Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by InsideTheStripe (Post 912359)
Didn't care for that reversal. Or the reversal at 1:40.

Agree. I thought the replay official missed both.

PAUmpire Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:25pm

On the final play. Anyone else see that player in the back field waving his hand back and forth? Could that have been considered a fair catch signal? while the ball was in flight.


I wouldnt have called just curious.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqIBNX0CXDc

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/HqIBNX0CXDc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Rich Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PAUmpire (Post 912369)
On the final play. Anyone else see that player in the back field waving his hand back and forth? Could that have been considered a fair catch signal? while the ball was in flight.


I wouldnt have called just curious.

No. Not unless common sense took an inopportune vacation.

HLin NC Sun Dec 01, 2013 07:38am

He was waving before the snap. Exhorting the crowd.

asdf Sun Dec 01, 2013 08:00am

How about the sideline not covered on the return?

The L is stuck inside when he pinches in after the kick. The F is under the upright and has no chance to get to the sideline. While Davis does not go out of bounds, that sideline was challenged and not covered until the L recovers from the hash (you see him weaving between players) and gets there after Davis passes him and cuts it back inside....

Rich Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 912378)
How about the sideline not covered on the return?

The L is stuck inside when he pinches in after the kick. The F is under the upright and has no chance to get to the sideline. While Davis does not go out of bounds, that sideline was challenged and not covered until the L recovers from the hash (you see him weaving between players) and gets there after Davis passes him and cuts it back inside....

The L got sucked in. Thankfully, replay would've been there if the runner had stepped out of bounds.

maven Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 912386)
The L got sucked in. Thankfully, replay would've been there if the runner had stepped out of bounds.

Maybe. I've still seen no sideline shot, and the sideline cameras might have been retasked for "end of game" shots and not watching the sidelines during the runback.

Rich Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 912388)
Maybe. I've still seen no sideline shot, and the sideline cameras might have been retasked for "end of game" shots and not watching the sidelines during the runback.

One shot didn't have the straight on angle, but it sure looked like he was in-bounds all the way down.

I'm an F and I know for a fact that the second the kick's blocked, I'm sprinting for the sideline -- so while the L is not there, it could very well be the case the F is on the sideline (albeit many yards away).

ajmc Sun Dec 01, 2013 03:31pm

An unbelievable ending, that boils down to a single fact; the Auburn team kept their head in the game up to the ACTUAL end, Alabama was thinking about Overtime.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 912420)
An unbelievable ending, that boils down to a single fact; the Auburn team kept their head in the game up to the ACTUAL end, Alabama was thinking about Overtime.

And the Auburn coach put his team in a position to win by kicking the game tying extra point instead of going for 2.

OKREF Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:30pm

And the Alabama coach put his team in position to lose when he went for it on fourth down with 5 minutes left, instead of kicking a 30 yard field goal to make it a 10 point game. However he probably had zero confidence in his kicker at that time.

hbk314 Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 912465)
And the Alabama coach put his team in position to lose when he went for it on fourth down with 5 minutes left, instead of kicking a 30 yard field goal to make it a 10 point game. However he probably had zero confidence in his kicker at that time.

Yet he chose to attempt a 57-yard field goal over a hail mary?

I guess hindsight makes it easy.

Matt Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 912467)
Yet he chose to attempt a 57-yard field goal over a hail mary?

I guess hindsight makes it easy.

Different kicker.

hbk314 Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 912468)
Different kicker.

I wasn't watching that closely, but you'd think that if you'd send him out there to try a 57-yarder, he could handle a 30-yarder.

tmagan Mon Dec 02, 2013 03:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 912386)
The L got sucked in. Thankfully, replay would've been there if the runner had stepped out of bounds.

Here is the problem, at midfield, the camera was blocked by the Alabama player, which means the Auburn player could have stepped out of bounds and no one would have saw it, since there was the double umpire format.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Dec 02, 2013 03:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 912460)
And the Auburn coach put his team in a position to win by kicking the game tying extra point instead of going for 2.


Unlike that Head Coach of that Team Up North. :p

MTD, Sr.

Rich Mon Dec 02, 2013 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmagan (Post 912492)
Here is the problem, at midfield, the camera was blocked by the Alabama player, which means the Auburn player could have stepped out of bounds and no one would have saw it, since there was the double umpire format.

The S is the double umpire. The F is on the L's side. My first movement on a blocked kick or a returned FG/try is to bust for the pylon and work reverse mechanics.

No matter. At the moment that Alabama player cut in front of the camera, it's obvious the player is in bounds. Also, the L is working to get back there and you don't have to be standing on the line to see if a player hits white.

I'm not excusing the line judge - he got sucked in - but I don't see it as a huge disaster, not on this play.

asdf Mon Dec 02, 2013 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 912504)

No matter. At the moment that Alabama player cut in front of the camera, it's obvious the player is in bounds. Also, the L is working to get back there and you don't have to be standing on the line to see if a player hits white.

While I agree the runner stayed in bounds, if an official is at numbers looking out, (where the L was) he is guessing if a runner has the outside of his foot touching white or he's 1/2" on the in bounds side of it.

Texas Aggie Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:28pm

The line judge should have anticipated the return and stayed home. Auburn called a timeout to set that up. There are no fewer than 3 officials in the middle and they can handle any inside issue that comes up -- the L can't really do much until the ball is dead anyway.

Having a presence is fine, but not at the expense of leaving a sideline uncovered. In 5 man mechanics, this can't be helped but in 7, it can.

Rich Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 912715)
The line judge should have anticipated the return and stayed home. Auburn called a timeout to set that up. There are no fewer than 3 officials in the middle and they can handle any inside issue that comes up -- the L can't really do much until the ball is dead anyway.

Having a presence is fine, but not at the expense of leaving a sideline uncovered. In 5 man mechanics, this can't be helped but in 7, it can.

I agree. The L just wasn't aware of the situation, it seemed.

parepat Thu Dec 05, 2013 04:32pm

AN additional matter that no one is talking about...putting the one second back on the clock. The runners foot touched down out of bounds with 1 second left. The ruling to put time back discounts that time for human reaction of the official and the clock operator which is present in every other play of the game. Instead of the new 3 second rule for spiking, I think there should be some margin for error in this situation to account for human reaction time. Thoughts?

voiceoflg Fri Dec 06, 2013 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat (Post 913067)
AN additional matter that no one is talking about...putting the one second back on the clock. The runners foot touched down out of bounds with 1 second left. The ruling to put time back discounts that time for human reaction of the official and the clock operator which is present in every other play of the game. Instead of the new 3 second rule for spiking, I think there should be some margin for error in this situation to account for human reaction time. Thoughts?

Great question. Is there a rule in place where, say, in the last minute of the game the timing is that precise? If not, would they review every OOB or incomplete pass play and set the game clock accordingly. Does the clock stop with the action or when the official on the field signals?

:confused:

maven Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by voiceoflg (Post 913160)
Great question. Is there a rule in place where, say, in the last minute of the game the timing is that precise? If not, would they review every OOB or incomplete pass play and set the game clock accordingly. Does the clock stop with the action or when the official on the field signals?

:confused:

1. No.

2. No.

3. The clock should stop when the ball becomes dead (in the relevant ways).

jchamp Fri Dec 06, 2013 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 912468)
Different kicker.

I thought he was going to take a knee. With about 30 seconds left, my wife and I went to meet some friends down at a nearby pub.
We had that Sirius Free Pass period in our car at the time, and it was the Auburn announcer that I picked to listen to, at random. The announcer described the 1-second review and said, "I don't know why he's gonna kick, Auburn's got just as much a chance to win as Bama at this point." Then had the discussion about what can happen in one second.
I feel lucky that I got to listen to the Auburn announcers describing the kick return and the aftermath. I've never heard two people who were so obviously happy to have the jobs they do. That was incredible.

Publius Sat Dec 07, 2013 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat (Post 913067)
AN additional matter that no one is talking about...putting the one second back on the clock. The runners foot touched down out of bounds with 1 second left. The ruling to put time back discounts that time for human reaction of the official and the clock operator which is present in every other play of the game. Instead of the new 3 second rule for spiking, I think there should be some margin for error in this situation to account for human reaction time. Thoughts?

The mechanics and politics of clock management by officials always fascinates me (the games I work are almost all untimed). Along the lines of this question, when a team is in "hurry-up" mode trying to score quickly to tie or win in the last minute of a game, is it considered poor officiating to place the ball ready for play at the same leisurely pace you do the other 47 minutes? Are you obligated to match the urgency of the trailing team?

That practice always strikes me as akin to shrinking the strike zone for the trailing team in the ninth inning of a one-run game, but knowing damned little of football officiating, the possibility that I'm just plain ignorant concerning this mechanic is immense.

ajmc Sun Dec 08, 2013 02:47pm

A competent officiating crew sets a fairly steady pace in putting the ball RFP, from the very beginning of the game. "Leisure" is usually not one of the guiding factors, which are more focused on the ball being properly placed, all officials being set in their appropriate positions, pre-snap responsibilities being attended to and there being no open issues needing closure prior to the play commencing.

If one team is operating in a "hurry-up mode"there may be less time required before actually putting the ball RFP, consideration for the opponent being actually ready to play should always be a factor.

If the "hurry up" is a consistent factor, it would already have likely had an effect on the "steady pace"of declaring the ball RFP.

parepat Tue Dec 10, 2013 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 913162)
1. No.

2. No.

3. The clock should stop when the ball becomes dead (in the relevant ways).

Not sure I agree with #3. Are you saying that on a close first down play the game clock operator should stop the clock when he perceives the player to be down beyond the line to gain, or upon the signal of the official?

maven Tue Dec 10, 2013 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat (Post 913653)
Not sure I agree with #3. Are you saying that on a close first down play the game clock operator should stop the clock when he perceives the player to be down beyond the line to gain, or upon the signal of the official?

No. I said, "the relevant ways."

ajmc Tue Dec 10, 2013 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat (Post 913653)
Not sure I agree with #3. Are you saying that on a close first down play the game clock operator should stop the clock when he perceives the player to be down beyond the line to gain, or upon the signal of the official?

On plays close to the Line to gain, anywhere on the field, the primary focus of a clock operator is on the Line Judge, who should be in the optimum position (On the line, facing the stakes) to judge if the LTG has been made, by signalling to stop the clock.

Rich Tue Dec 10, 2013 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 913803)
On plays close to the Line to gain, anywhere on the field, the primary focus of a clock operator is on the Line Judge, who should be in the optimum position (On the line, facing the stakes) to judge if the LTG has been made, by signalling to stop the clock.

We agree completely. It's the L's job to stop the clock on a first down. As the R, the only signal I give is the first down signal, followed by the wind (if we're going to wind the clock). Our instructions are to look at the L for stopping the clock on a close LTG situation and then look at the R to start the clock.

On our crew, if the L tells me to look at the ball, we're having a measurement 99.9% of the time. Otherwise, he wouldn't be telling me to look. If the clock gets stopped to look, we're measuring 100% of the time.

parepat Wed Dec 11, 2013 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 913805)
We agree completely. It's the L's job to stop the clock on a first down. As the R, the only signal I give is the first down signal, followed by the wind (if we're going to wind the clock). Our instructions are to look at the L for stopping the clock on a close LTG situation and then look at the R to start the clock.

On our crew, if the L tells me to look at the ball, we're having a measurement 99.9% of the time. Otherwise, he wouldn't be telling me to look. If the clock gets stopped to look, we're measuring 100% of the time.

This is my point. On each of these occasions there is a time lag between the official deciding to stop the clock, and actually signaling it. There is also a time lag from the time the operator sees the signal and actually stops it. Thus, at any other point in the game, there may be a second or two between the runners foot touching out of bounds and the clock getting stopped. This lag is a result of human reaction time. In the play in question, no consideration was made for the time lag.

Robert Goodman Wed Dec 11, 2013 11:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat (Post 913894)
This is my point. On each of these occasions there is a time lag between the official deciding to stop the clock, and actually signaling it. There is also a time lag from the time the operator sees the signal and actually stops it. Thus, at any other point in the game, there may be a second or two between the runners foot touching out of bounds and the clock getting stopped. This lag is a result of human reaction time. In the play in question, no consideration was made for the time lag.

Isn't it made up for by a similar lag in starting the clock?

parepat Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 913972)
Isn't it made up for by a similar lag in starting the clock?

Absolutely!!....Unless you eliminate it like they did in this scenario.

voiceoflg Thu Dec 12, 2013 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat (Post 914007)
Absolutely!!....Unless you eliminate it like they did in this scenario.

And that goes back to my question. For this play, does the rule say the clock stops when the ball carrier's foot steps OOB, or when the official on the field signals?

ajmc Fri Dec 13, 2013 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by voiceoflg (Post 914053)
And that goes back to my question. For this play, does the rule say the clock stops when the ball carrier's foot steps OOB, or when the official on the field signals?

The rules do not specify to the level you are seeking, however there is an otherwise inherent understanding expressed regarding similar issues. As we are all advised, the sounding of a whistle merely signifies and announces a decision a covering official has made, so any unexpected delay in sounding the whistle does not alter the judgment already made requiring the whistle to be sounded.

It seems, somewhat obvious, that the same principle would apply to your question. The precise instant when the game time stops, is actually when the covering official decides that some action, specified in the rules, required the clock to stop. The signalling of that decision merely is announcing the decision that has already been made.

An example might be, an official deciding he observes that a runner has stepped on a sideline, and deciding that action requires the clock to be stopped is unexpectedly knocked down prior to being able to signal the clock stoppage. The time actually stopped when the official decided the action he observed rquires stopping the clock.

Officials don't usually stop clocks, with some exceptions, the clocks are stopped as a result of specific actions defined by rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1