![]() |
Horse collar rule
Is the horse collar rule different in nfhs and college football? I have seen some plays in college football this year where I would of never called a horse collar like in the ohio state-penn state game, so I was thinking the rules must be different in both.
|
Quote:
All players are prohibited from grabbing the inside back collar of the shoulder pads or jersey, or the inside collar of the side of the shoulder pads or jersey, and immediately pulling the ball carrier down. This does not apply to a ball carrier, including a potential passer, who is inside the tackle box (Rule 2-34). Note that the tackle box disintegrates when the ball leaves it. NFHS 9-4-3-k No player or non(-)player shall (g)rab the inside back or side collar of the shoulder pads or jersey of the runner and subsequently pull (backward or sideward) that opponent to the ground (Horse-collar), even if possession is lost. The horse-collar foul is enforced as a live-ball foul. Yes. The rules are different. Bonus NFL 12-2-15 No player shall grab the inside collar of the back or the side of the shoulder pads or jersey pads or jersey, and pull the runner toward the ground. This does not apply to a runner who is in the tackle box or to a quarterback who is in the pocket. Note: It is not necessary for a player to pull the runner completely to the ground in order for the act to be illegal. If his knees are buckled by the action, it is a foul, even if the runner is not pulled completely to the ground. |
Yes there are differences in all 3 rule codes.
You can download the NCAA rulebook for free from the NCAA.org. |
Quote:
|
I heard at a clinic in 2012 that at least the Big 10 guys are taught that its possible to grab the collar of the shoulder pads from outside the jersey...I.e. if the action causes the same effect, the "buckling of the knees," they aren't picking nits on whether the hand is inside or outside. Play the game lower.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Is this the play in question?
<iframe src="//player.vimeo.com/video/78124306?title=0&byline=0&portrait=0&c olor=ffffff" width="925" height="520" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe> |
The slide made it look more like a horse collar than it really was but I don't have a huge problem with that call. Err on the side of safety.
Of course, it would have been nice to call the massive, blatant hold on the left tackle, but that's a different thread! |
That's the play.
|
Quote:
|
Semi-related:
We had it happen in a HS game. Both the wing and I (the R) clearly saw that the nameplate was grabbed. Same effect as a HCT. We didn't flag it. Naturally, the other sideline thought the hand was inside. I told the coach what happened and he was fine with the explanation. After the game, we had a philosophical discussion on whether we should've flagged that anyway. Appears we weren't the only ones to have that kind of discussion. Question for TX HS officials: Do you exempt players in the tackle box from a HCT foul (pure NCAA rules)? |
Yes, we go by strict NCAA rules for horse collars.
|
That is not a horse-collar IMO.
Peace |
Quote:
OSU sideline, so the bench emphatically trying to sell it to the Linesman wasn't the case. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24pm. |