![]() |
Facemask
Running Back A2 behind LOS, defensive facemask, then a fumble, Team B recovers. Penalty enforced from the LOS or where it took place in backfield? No fumble recovery for team B if A accepts the penalty, any opinions or citing of rule that pertains? Thanks
|
The first question you always ask is did the foul occur during a loose ball play or running play. This is a loose ball play (10-3-1c) because it happened before the fumble by A behind the NZ. The basic spot for a foul during a loose ball play is the previous spot (10-4-2b). Since this is a foul by the defense it is enforced from the basic spot (10-6).
|
running play.
|
Quote:
|
At first I thought running play as well, but the case book is definitive:
10.3.1 SITUATION C: With first and 10 from A's 5-yard line, A1 drops back into his end zone, where he is tackled by the face mask/helmet opening and fumbles. The ball rolls out of bounds at A's 3-yard line. RULING: The fumble by A is a loose-ball play behind the neutral zone which would be enforced from the previous spot. Following penalty administration, it will be A's ball, first and 10, at A's 20-yard line. |
From 10-3-1:
ART. 1 . . . A loose-ball play is action during: |
Also remember these words when there is change of possession and a foul.
Did the team in possession get it with "clean hands". |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14pm. |