![]() |
Dumb Question
NCAA. 3rd down and 10 at midfield, left hash. A has two players in motion at the snap. Sweep to the right hash for a 5 yard gain. Flag for illegal shift. After enforcement of the penalty which hash is the ball placed? Brain not working.
|
It is called the "previous spot" for a reason. If the penalty is accepted it goes back to not only the same yard line the ball was snapped at previously, but that exact spot. ;)
Peace |
Dictated by the enforcement spot. What is the enforcement spot for illegal shift?
|
The same for NFHS. We had this last night in a frosh game. The coach/QB asked me (as HL) why we went back to the other side of the field.
"We go from the previous spot." "Oh." I love those kinds of conversations. :) |
Same with enforcing from the flag. Not only is it the yard line but also the relation to the hash. I see umpires get this wrong all the time.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10pm. |