The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NCAA rule question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/96155-ncaa-rule-question.html)

Rich Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:07pm

NCAA rule question
 
A punts. The ball, untouched by B, is batted by A from B's end zone (the ball does not hit the ground in the end zone) to the B4. A B player recovers the ball and returns it to the B36, where he fumbles. A44 recovers the ball, returns it to the B12, where he is tackled by an B player by the face mask.

Result? References?

bisonlj Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 905852)
A punts. The ball, untouched by B, is batted by A from B's end zone (the ball does not hit the ground in the end zone) to the B4. A B player recovers the ball and returns it to the B36, where he fumbles. A44 recovers the ball, returns it to the B12, where he is tackled by an A player by the face mask.

Result? References?

The illegal touching by A is in the B end zone so if it used it will be from the B20. B loses the option to take the spot of illegal touching if A accepts the penalty. They will and the penalty is enforced from the end of the run. A's ball 1/10 form the B6.

6-3-2

Rich Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 905855)
The illegal touching by A is in the B end zone so if it used it will be from the B20. B loses the option to take the spot of illegal touching if A accepts the penalty. They will and the penalty is enforced from the end of the run. A's ball 1/10 form the B6.

6-3-2

Doesn't 6-3-11 trump this?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 905857)
Doesn't 6-3-11 trump this?

6-3-11 says that the illegal touching privilege isn't canceled on the special "violation" illegal touching because of an accepted penalty.

It seems as though they're only referring to PSK fouls by B and fouls by A during the kick when they say this, though.

A.R. 6-3-11 III seems to support your answer. Without some explanation, though, it really seems the text of 6-3-11 contradicts the approved ruling, though.

bisonlj Tue Sep 24, 2013 01:05am

I believe the reason 6-3-11 doesn't apply is because PSK does not apply. This is the case with the AR. If you had a situation that ends with a PSK application of a foul then you would use 6-3-11. They would use it if B secured possession after the bat and ran the ball to the B8 where they are tackled. A teammate commits a foul at the B16 while the ball is loose.

Rich Tue Sep 24, 2013 01:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 905859)
I believe the reason 6-3-11 doesn't apply is because PSK does not apply. This is the case with the AR. If you had a situation that ends with a PSK application of a foul then you would use 6-3-11. They would use it if B secured possession after the bat and ran the ball to the B8 where they are tackled. A teammate commits a foul at the B16 while the ball is loose.

Right, because the kick still hadn't ended.

It appears looking at A.R. II and III that the only fouls that wouldn't affect the privilege are PSK fouls and fouls by A during the kick.

That leaves some interesting holes in enforcement, though.

Consider the play above. Instead of the A player being tackled by the facemask on the 12 yard line, now consider the case where he scores on the play and B commits a 5- or 10-yard foul. That foul would be declined by rule and B would be able to wipe out the score and take the illegal touching privilege and the ball on the B20. Likewise, if A commits an IBB on the return, it would seem that B would be able to decline the foul and then claim the illegal touching privilege, wiping out the score.

Strange, strange stuff, but some of that same strange kind of stuff also appears in other places...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1