The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   College Question (with a high school addendum) (https://forum.officiating.com/football/96045-college-question-high-school-addendum.html)

Adam Sat Sep 07, 2013 09:29pm

College Question (with a high school addendum)
 
Went to the Air Force slaughter today (52-20 loss), and came away with a question regarding college rules.

1/10. Just before the RFP, A decides to run a quick snap. Laundry everywhere.

Move them back 5 yards.

Then, they announced that since it was on first down, it would still be 1/10, only 5 yards backwards.
Is that right by college rules?

Would it be the same in Fed?

Adam Sat Sep 07, 2013 09:32pm

Also, I was cracking up on one play AF had in the opposite end zone from where I was sitting. Literally the opposite corner of the field, people were wondering why the refs didn't throw a flag on what they were sure was DPI in the end zone. We couldn't see anything.

Rich Sat Sep 07, 2013 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 904438)
Went to the Air Force slaughter today (52-20 loss), and came away with a question regarding college rules.

1/10. Just before the RFP, A decides to run a quick snap. Laundry everywhere.

Move them back 5 yards.

Then, they announced that since it was on first down, it would still be 1/10, only 5 yards backwards.
Is that right by college rules?

Would it be the same in Fed?

No idea what you're talking about. A false start on A would result on 1st and 15.

Adam Sat Sep 07, 2013 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 904441)
No idea what you're talking about. A false start on A would result on 1st and 15.

Sorry, A snapped the ball before the R whistled the ready. "Illegal snap" was the announcement, and he specified it was because they snapped the ball before it was marked ready for play.

JRutledge Sat Sep 07, 2013 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 904444)
Sorry, A snapped the ball before the R whistled the ready. "Illegal snap" was the announcement, and he specified it was because they snapped the ball before it was marked ready for play.

Well that would be a delay of game. Not sure why it would be 1st and 10?

Peace

Texas Aggie Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:01pm

1/10 would be correct.

Quote:

The penalty for any dead-ball foul (including live-ball fouls treated as dead-ball fouls) that occurs after a series ends and before the ball is ready for play shall be completed before the line to gain is established.
As stated above, this is a dead ball foul for delay and since the succeeding spot is a first down spot for a new series, it stays 1/10. This is just like a dead ball foul after a team gains a first down -- if its on A, its first and ten, not first and 25 (for a PF/USC/etc.).

Keep in mind this is unique to a first down play. Had it been another down, the line to gain does not change.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1