The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 09, 2013, 12:05pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Forward Progress after COP

Watching a game this weekend of an interception in the EZ, I had a thought about forward progress.

1st and 10 from the B 20. A throws into the EZ and B20 intercepts the ball 2 yards deep in the EZ. A5 hits B20 and drives him into the field of play where B20 is tackled on the B2.

1st and 10 from the 2? Or a touchback and 1st and 10 from the 20?

I think this because of the case where B intercepts and tries to go down (to get the touchback). But A drives B onto the field of play to intentionally prevent the touchback. You can't call B's forward progress stopped (since he's obviously going forward). But do you allow A to prevent the touchback?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forward Progress dumbref Football 5 Fri Sep 05, 2008 01:38pm
Forward Progress AZ_REF Football 15 Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:13pm
FORWARD PROGRESS MRIGUY Football 3 Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:43pm
Clarification of 'Forward Progress' WyMike Football 1 Wed Sep 08, 2004 12:55pm
Forward Progress JMN Football 11 Sun Jan 26, 2003 12:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1