![]()  | 
	
		
 Fumble into the end zone. 
		
		
		High School 
	A1 is at the 5yd line about to score when he is hit from behind by b12. The hit causes a fumble into the end zone where a5 a wide receiver recovers. Is this a score? What's the correct ruling? Thanks.  | 
		
 That is a touchdown. 
	 | 
		
 Of course it's a score.  Possession of a live ball in the opponent's end zone is always a TD. 
	ETA: Some rule sets have a "4th-down fumble" rule which may bring the ball back to the spot of the fumble.  | 
		
 Under NF rules that is a TD. 
	 | 
		
 Td 
	 | 
		
 Thanks for the feedback. I read that it is always a score, but I thought I had heard differently. Thank you. 
	 | 
		
 NCAA: unless its 4th down or on a try, TD. 
	 | 
		
 For the NCAA folk, does it matter if the fumble is after the line-to-gain?  For example: 
	4th and 3 from the B10. A27 runs to the B1 where he fumbles into the EZ. A31 recovers the ball in the EZ. TD? Or 1st and goal from the B1?  | 
		
 In NCAA, the location of the line-to-gain relative to the spot of the fumble and spot of recovery/dead ball spot does not matter.  
	But there is a difference in rules between downs 1, 2, 3, and 4th down. In your case, since it was 4th down, it would be 1st and goal for A at B1. If it was 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down when your play happened, it would be a touchdown.  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 1st and goal from the B-1. The LTG doesn't have a bearing on the 4th down fumble rule.  | 
		
 Cool.  Thanks for the answers. 
	 | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Perhaps it should but that's going to be difficult to enforce especially since a subsequent recovery by Team A causes the ball to become dead. I think the rule as it currently stands is OK. 
	 | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57am. |