The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2003, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
My suspicion is in 2003 it is a double foul under 5-2-2 because according to the rules and even a conversation with Jerry Diehl a double foul and possession do not change with post-scrimmage kick fouls. Since both fouls occurred before change of possession, it is back to the previous spot, 4th and 10. [/B]
This is one of those contradictions that needs to be addressed (http://mysite.verizon.net/~jfurdell/):

A statement in the comments that the receiving team must have "clean hands" until a scrimmage kick crosses the expanded neutral zone implies that team possession changes when the kick crosses the expanded neutral zone. This implication is backed up by Football Fundamental I-3 (page 66), which states "A loose ball is in possession of the team whose player was last in possession unless post-scrimmage kick applies."

However, such a change in team possession is not explicity stated in the rules (Rule 2-32-2 defines team possession).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1