![]() |
Illegal formation?
NCAA rules... Team A lines up with 8 men on the line of scrimage. What is the ruling if:
A: Six interior linemen all wear an inelligible number, or B: One of the interior linemen wears an elligible number? |
The formation is legal in both cases but in part B the interior lineman with the eligible number is ineligible by position.
|
B is legal as long as there are 5 players with numbers between 50-79, unless they are in a scrimmage kick formation. As Welpe said, any interior lineman is illegal by position.
50-79 are ALWAYS illegal, regardless of formation. I add this because there is some confusion about a difference between NFL and NCAA rules. Under NCAA rules, there is no requirement that the end have an eligible number. I think in the NFL, he has to. |
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07pm. |