The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2003, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ten Mile, Tn
Posts: 236
I have always believed that in order for an ineligible to legally be in the expanded neutral zone (beyond the neutral zone) before a legal forward pass is in flight, he had to be blocking a B lineman. If he is beyond the neutral zone otherwise he is illegally downfield. But the rule (7-5-12) doesn't say this. It says "Inelegible A players may not advance beyond the EXPANDED neutral zone ..." Did something get changed or was I just mistaken? The statement made later in the same article "An ineligible is not illegally downfield if, at the snap, he immediately contacts a B lineman and the contact does not continue beyond the expanded neutral zone" seems superfluous to the first statement, i.e., he wouldn't be illegally downfield until he was beyond the expanded neutral zone in any case. What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1