![]() |
Kickoff Question: High School
Is it anything if a kicker misses the ball on a kickoff and the kickoff team and/or the kicker goes past the ball?
Is it simply no play? |
By rule only the kicker (and, if any, holder) may enter the NZ prior to the ball being kicked (his plant foot typically lands in the NZ just before the kick). So if the kicker whiffs and other K players enter the NZ, you'd have encroachment.
If he misses it because the ball falls off the tee, we kill it right now and rekick. Otherwise, you're likely to have ENC. |
NFHS 6-1-3 Advises, "After the ball is marked RFP, and until it is kicked, no player, other than the kicker and the holder for a place kick may be beyond the free kick line. (Penalty) 5 yards, encroachment.
The penalty would only apply if a K team member other than the kicker (and /or place kick holder) went beyond the FK line. |
If you are in Texas you have nothing. You can't have offside unless the ball is kicked. If he misses it's nothing. He can reset and attempt the kick again as long as the play clock doesn't expire. If so, delay of game.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59am. |