The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Momentum on a free kick (https://forum.officiating.com/football/93001-momentum-free-kick.html)

voiceoflg Sat Nov 24, 2012 03:03am

Momentum on a free kick
 
K has been kicking high with the ball coming down around the R 30 yard line all night. R4 is camped at the 30 when on a kickoff, K kicks it over R4's head. R4 runs back to get it and picks it up on a bounce at his own 2 yard line. Momentum carries him into the end zone where the white hat immediately blows his whistle and signals touchback.

Is this the correct call? If not, then what? I'll give what was eventually ruled later.

HLin NC Sat Nov 24, 2012 08:26am

If the WH was certain it was possessed in the field of play, should be a beanbag at the spot, 1st & 10 R at the 2.

If in doubt or if not in possession then touchback would be the proper call.

CT1 Sat Nov 24, 2012 09:06am

Assuming there was possession before the EZ, sounds like there was an IW. R can take the ball at the R-2, or choose a rekick (most likely).

maven Sat Nov 24, 2012 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 863265)
Assuming there was possession before the EZ, sounds like there was an IW. R can take the ball at the R-2, or choose a rekick (most likely).

I agree, sounds like an IW.

Just to expand on that a bit: 4-2-3c dictates that R has the option "to accept the results of the play at the dead-ball spot or replay the down." The result of the play would ordinarily be a safety (R carried the ball into their own EZ, where it became dead), but the momentum exception applies here, making the result of the play R's ball at the R2.

The other option — replaying the down — would be a rekick in this instance. The K coach won't be happy about it, and a beanbag helps to sell this call. :)

I also agree with HLinNC: if the covering official has any doubt about possession, then it was still a kick when it crossed the plane of the GL, resulting in a TB. In that case, he got it right.

voiceoflg Sat Nov 24, 2012 03:18pm

Here is what happened.

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/KPHkKka1Rp0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

maven Sat Nov 24, 2012 03:39pm

My observations:

1. The R is out of position, having to run back to the GL to rule on TB. He should start straddling the GL.

2. I can't see where the receiver gained possession.

3. He gives an NFL TB signal (NFHS and NCAA use a "fair catch" signal for TB).

4. No clue why we're starting at the 2 YL if the ruling was a TB, but the R seems to be lined up directly behind the QB.

voiceoflg Sat Nov 24, 2012 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 863277)
My observations:

1. The R is out of position, having to run back to the GL to rule on TB. He should start straddling the GL.

2. I can't see where the receiver gained possession.

3. He gives an NFL TB signal (NFHS and NCAA use a "fair catch" signal for TB).

4. No clue why we're starting at the 2 YL if the ruling was a TB, but the R seems to be lined up directly behind the QB.

2. The receiver gained possession at the 2 and ran into the end zone with the ball.

4. The referee first signaled TB, but then after a gathering of officials it was (I'm guessing) ruled down at the two. 1st and ten there.

I have never seen that situation before in the 16 years I've broadcast high school football, so I was unsure what the correct rule was. It didn't affect the outcome of the game. The six turnovers the white team gave up did that. I was just curious.

maven Sat Nov 24, 2012 06:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by voiceoflg (Post 863281)
4. The referee first signaled TB, but then after a gathering of officials it was (I'm guessing) ruled down at the two. 1st and ten there.

Technically not "down at the two." In order for the momentum exception to apply, (among other things) the ball must become dead in the EZ. It did in this case due to the IW; often, the player will take a knee or be tackled.

I guess if I were announcing what happened, I might state that "by rule, the ball will be placed at the spot of recovery."

And, as HLin and CT1 pointed out, since the ball became dead due to the IW, the receiving team should have had the option to replay the down.

CT1 Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:47pm

After viewing the video, I'm sure there was an IW. The ball wasn't dead by rule, yet the R gave the TB signal.

My guess is that this was the first time this happened with this particular R. Perhaps one of his crew reminded him about the MX, and they decided to "equitably" award it to R at the MX spot.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 25, 2012 01:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 863283)
Technically not "down at the two." In order for the momentum exception to apply, (among other things) the ball must become dead in the EZ. It did in this case due to the IW; often, the player will take a knee or be tackled.

So are you saying the momentum exception does or doesn't apply?

Because you sound a little wishy-washy. :)

maven Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 863308)
So are you saying the momentum exception does or doesn't apply?

Because you sound a little wishy-washy. :)

The IW rule applies, which gives R the option:

1. Take the result of the play: momentum exception applies, spot the ball at the R2.

2. Replay the (free kick) down.

I'm sure you understand all that. It's misleading to say "down at the 2" for the first option, which was the point of my post.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 25, 2012 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 863336)
The IW rule applies, which gives R the option:

1. Take the result of the play: momentum exception applies, spot the ball at the R2.

2. Replay the (free kick) down.

I'm sure you understand all that. It's misleading to say "down at the 2" for the first option, which was the point of my post.

I did but I'm not sure the OP or others would. :)

MD Longhorn Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by voiceoflg (Post 863281)
2. The receiver gained possession at the 2 and ran into the end zone with the ball.

I'm not positive based on this video, and I'm sure that you can't be as well. Touching and possessing are not the same thing and don't always happen at the same time, and it's definitely not as clear cut as you seem to indicate that possession occurred at the 2.

However, the fact that the official was talked into spotting the ball at the 2 leads me to believe that they agreed with you. Only problem is that if they did, then it had to be IW - and a likely rekick.

Yucky all the way around on this one. (I agree with the bad mechanics on R's part).

voiceoflg Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 863422)
I'm not positive based on this video, and I'm sure that you can't be as well.

Correct, I'm not 1.000% sure. The video camera was on the right end of the press box and I was on the left end, and I had my binoculars on #4. I saw him grab the ball out of the air but it happened quickly, so I am not perfectly clear if he had complete control of the ball at the two. It may have been at the one or inside the end zone.

Thank you all for your input and continuing to assist me on my education.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1