The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   109-yd missed FG return for a TD (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92845-109-yd-missed-fg-return-td.html)

Rich Sun Nov 04, 2012 01:38pm

109-yd missed FG return for a TD
 
Sean Landez: 109.9 Yard missed FG returned for a Touchdown! - YouTube!

APG Sun Nov 04, 2012 01:41pm

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nwYTBCuA4Ts" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JugglingReferee Sun Nov 04, 2012 02:24pm

I love these long runs! Good for that player.

Did I miss noticing a covering official on the threatened sideline?

Rich Sun Nov 04, 2012 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 861083)
I love these long runs! Good for that player.

Did I miss noticing a covering official on the threatened sideline?

5-man mechanics. The official under the upright has to get to the sideline and then trail all the way downfield. That's the open sideline with a right-footed kicker.

Forksref Sun Nov 04, 2012 02:57pm

Obviously, NCAA rules.


Nice catch an balancing act. Two officials right there to make sure he didn't touch the EL. The R looked a little "pooped" when he arrived at the GL.

JRutledge Sun Nov 04, 2012 02:57pm

We do the flip flop in our state for the most part, so someone in a 5 person mechanic has left a sideline open. In a 7 then someone would be there. This must have been in Massachusetts or Texas to let this play continue as well.

Peace

JugglingReferee Sun Nov 04, 2012 03:32pm

Week 9 // Friday, November 2, 2012
Rattlers Stadium, Sharyland, Texas
Edinburg North Cougars @ Sharyland Rattlers

JRutledge Sun Nov 04, 2012 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 861089)
Week 9 // Friday, November 2, 2012
Rattlers Stadium, Sharyland, Texas
Edinburg North Cougars @ Sharyland Rattlers

That explains the rules, it may explain the mechanics, but not necessarily considering that not everyone in Texas seems to use 5 man mechanics based on what I have read on this site.

Peace

Texas Aggie Sun Nov 04, 2012 09:45pm

Its obviously not 7 since there is neither a line judge nor a side judge next to the U. You can't tell for sure if the R is on the LJ's sideline. You assume he isn't since he ends up in the middle of the field, but he could have been chased there during the run back. TASO mechanics call for the R to be on the LJ's vacated side but some R's go for the foot side of the kicker.

Incidentally, its not a "109(+) yard missed FG..." Its a 44 yard missed FG attempt returned 109+ yards for a TD.

Also, did anyone see anything else on the play?

BktBallRef Sun Nov 04, 2012 09:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 861110)
Also, did anyone see anything else on the play?

The attempted block below the waist around the 22 yard line?

Rich Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 861111)
The attempted block below the waist around the 22 yard line?

Appeared to me he whiffed. I noticed that on the first viewing and then went back. Illegal even in NCAA rules if he makes contact.

Welpe Mon Nov 05, 2012 08:37am

When I first saw this on your Facebook, I was hoping and praying that it was in Texas or Mass. Thankfully I was right and it wasn't a botched call.

Quite impressive.

Rich Mon Nov 05, 2012 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 861117)
When I first saw this on your Facebook, I was hoping and praying that it was in Texas or Mass. Thankfully I was right and it wasn't a botched call.

Quite impressive.

Would it have surprised you? A free kick that went into the end zone was allowed to be returned in a third round playoff game last weekend under NFHS rules. Also personally saw two free kicks out of bounds spotted in the middle of the field and one game featuring a line judge who started inside the numbers on scrimmage plays that started from the linesman's hashmark.

It would be funny if it wasn't so sad.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 05, 2012 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 861111)
The attempted block below the waist around the 22 yard line?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 861112)
Appeared to me he whiffed. I noticed that on the first viewing and then went back. Illegal even in NCAA rules if he makes contact.

Agreed, that's why I wrote, "...attempted block below the waist..."

Texas Aggie Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:07pm

Yeah, nothing (foul related) there, but I wondered if anyone saw it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1