The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Progress Stopped, or Play On? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92742-progress-stopped-play.html)

bisonlj Tue Oct 23, 2012 05:16pm

You don't rule progress stopped the second he's pushed back. You watch the action to see if he is ever able to get out of the action and advance. You may ultimately rule forward progress after the ball the fumbled but it's because you are taking the totality of the action into account. If the ball is handed, passed or stripped by a teammate as quickly as this one, I am OK with a live ball and play continuing. If you do rule forward progress make sure you sell it well and I think you can be supported on this play. It's a judgement call and there is no black and white correct answer.

maven Tue Oct 23, 2012 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtn335 (Post 859800)
I'm not convinced there was forward handing - it's tough to see here, but I think A1 reached in and took the ball, and A35 permitted him to do so - but if it was: both players are behind the neutral zone and the handing is to a player who was on the end of the line. Legal per NFHS 7-3-2 (I looked up the citation, but knew the answer).

Nailed it!

It was forward handing:
"Forward handing occurs when the runner releases the ball when the
entire ball is beyond the yard line where the runner is positioned." 2-19-2

Not illegal handing, for the reasons you gave.

mtn335 Tue Oct 23, 2012 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 859812)
Nailed it!

It was forward handing:
"Forward handing occurs when the runner releases the ball when the
entire ball is beyond the yard line where the runner is positioned." 2-19-2

I read that definition to mean that it's forward if he holds it out forward. If it's in at his body, then wouldn't the ball be at the yard line where he's positioned? Would it be forward handing if a stationary player, facing the opponent's goal line with the ball tucked against his stomach, did nothing while a teammate came and took the ball out of his hands? (I ask out of inexperience, not trying to start an argument :-) )

mtn335 Tue Oct 23, 2012 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 859811)
You don't rule progress stopped the second he's pushed back. You watch the action to see if he is ever able to get out of the action and advance. You may ultimately rule forward progress after the ball the fumbled but it's because you are taking the totality of the action into account. If the ball is handed, passed or stripped by a teammate as quickly as this one, I am OK with a live ball and play continuing. If you do rule forward progress make sure you sell it well and I think you can be supported on this play. It's a judgement call and there is no black and white correct answer.

This is where I'm coming down here. I guess I wouldn't fault my wing whichever way he went - he made a decision on a borderline play (and obviously I had his back with the Red sideline!), and we're movin' on.

Welpe Tue Oct 23, 2012 06:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 859811)
You don't rule progress stopped the second he's pushed back. You watch the action to see if he is ever able to get out of the action and advance. You may ultimately rule forward progress after the ball the fumbled but it's because you are taking the totality of the action into account. If the ball is handed, passed or stripped by a teammate as quickly as this one, I am OK with a live ball and play continuing. If you do rule forward progress make sure you sell it well and I think you can be supported on this play. It's a judgement call and there is no black and white correct answer.

You and I will probably never agree on this. :) I don't believe in giving the ball carrier a second bite at the apple. Is he held so that his forward progress is stopped? That's what needs to be judged. The rest has no bearing.

I happen to believe he was in this play.

maven Tue Oct 23, 2012 06:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtn335 (Post 859814)
I read that definition to mean that it's forward if he holds it out forward. If it's in at his body, then wouldn't the ball be at the yard line where he's positioned? Would it be forward handing if a stationary player, facing the opponent's goal line with the ball tucked against his stomach, did nothing while a teammate came and took the ball out of his hands? (I ask out of inexperience, not trying to start an argument :-) )

Holding the ball out away from the body is not necessary for any handing.

The situation you describe is forward handing. When the runner holds the ball in front of him in this situation, they are on different yard lines ('yard line' is a defined term, and refers to more than just the 1 or 5 yard increments marked on the field: 2-26-7).

If the runner is sideways (perpendicular to the goal lines) and holds the ball in front of him, then the ball is at the same yard line. Handing the ball here would not constitute forward handing.

mtn335 Tue Oct 23, 2012 06:46pm

Gotcha. Thanks!

Rich Tue Oct 23, 2012 06:53pm

8-man? Cool.

ODJ Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:18pm

Nice crowd.:rolleyes:

Steven Tyler Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:28am

Forward progress stopped. Ball should have been spotted about 1 1/2 yards forward from where the ball exchange took place.

JugglingReferee Wed Oct 24, 2012 06:30am

I have progress stopped.

JugglingReferee Wed Oct 24, 2012 06:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 859770)
In Canadian rules, in addition to having progress stopped, the ball carrier must be unable or unwilling to part with the ball.

I've never heard of this before.

Rich Wed Oct 24, 2012 07:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 859846)
I've never heard of this before.

Maybe it was the ruling in 1942. ;)

CT1 Wed Oct 24, 2012 08:20am

I have FP stopped. The defenders had him controlled, & pushed him back 2 yards.

MD Longhorn Wed Oct 24, 2012 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 859812)
Nailed it!

It was forward handing:
"Forward handing occurs when the runner releases the ball when the
entire ball is beyond the yard line where the runner is positioned." 2-19-2

Not illegal handing, for the reasons you gave.

This definition proves it was not forward handing. The entire ball was not beyond the runner... it was beside the runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1