The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Illegal Touching end of Saints/Buc's game (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92726-illegal-touching-end-saints-bucs-game.html)

Rickwill Mon Oct 22, 2012 01:05pm

Illegal Touching end of Saints/Buc's game
 
Hey can someone clear up for me the correct call at the end of the Saints/Bucs game. Seems to be some question about whether it was the right call, since he was pushed out. Thanks.

HLin NC Mon Oct 22, 2012 01:20pm

Illegal contact is no longer an issue once the QB leaves the pocket.
A can not be the first to touch the pass after he re-enters, thus the Illegal touching.

These are NFL rules. Other rule sets may be different.

Rickwill Mon Oct 22, 2012 01:23pm

Thanks, so just to make sure I understand, it doesn't matter whether A was pushed out or not. Thanks.

APG Mon Oct 22, 2012 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rickwill (Post 859503)
Thanks, so just to make sure I understand, it doesn't matter whether A was pushed out or not. Thanks.

The only way an eligible receiver can go out out bounds and reestablish himself inbounds and be the first to touch the ball is if he's forced out of bounds by a defensive foul (holding, illegal contact, defensive pass interference, illegal cut, etc). Otherwise, if he steps out on his own, or is legally contacted/forced out of bounds (legal chuck within 5 yards for example), then he may not be the first to touch the ball.

bigjohn Mon Oct 22, 2012 02:02pm

Why isn't it illegal contact? It is at least ten yards from the LOS to the back of the end zone.

maven Mon Oct 22, 2012 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 859517)
Why isn't it illegal contact? It is at least ten yards from the LOS to the back of the end zone.

Short answer: there was no flag.

I'd have to see the play to offer a reason for the IC no call, but a common one in general is that the defender had position and warded off the receiver.

APG Mon Oct 22, 2012 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 859517)
Why isn't it illegal contact? It is at least ten yards from the LOS to the back of the end zone.

Illegal contact provisions are only in effect while the quarterback is in the pocket. As soon as he leaves the pocket, illegal contact goes out the window and a defender can chuck all he wants (but a defender can still be called for other penalties such as holding or illegal use of hands).

MD Longhorn Mon Oct 22, 2012 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 859517)
Why isn't it illegal contact? It is at least ten yards from the LOS to the back of the end zone.

Because the QB was out of the pocket.

HLin NC Mon Oct 22, 2012 04:53pm

Quote:

Why isn't it illegal contact?
Do you even read the posts before, bigjohn?:rolleyes:

Quote:

Illegal contact is no longer an issue once the QB leaves the pocket.

bigjohn Mon Oct 22, 2012 06:26pm

I never read your posts HL, LOL!!!!




No I did not see your post earlier but that does answer the question.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1