![]() |
Dead ball fouls
federation rules: personal foul on B at the end of a play at which ends at the B-16 yd line. After that there is an USC on A's coach. Do these offset? Or are they suppose to march them off in order that they occurred? Which would be 1/2 distance to B's goal than 15 yds back?
|
Quote:
|
By "end of the play", you mean after the ball is dead ,right? Dead ball fouls are assessed in the order of occurance (assuming they are accepted penalties). In you OP, with two deadball fouls, the U will march 1/2 the distance to B 8. If the line to gain is reached, a first down is awarded. Then the U turn and marches 15 yds the other direction ending on B 23. If the first penalty yields a first down, set the chains at B 23 and hack/wind the clock.
Dead ball fouls do not cancel each other or live ball fouls. They are naughty acts and get punished accordingly. |
Quote:
Simultaneous dead ball fouls offset. If you can't determine which of two fouls came first, the fouls offset. Never say never. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
My crew has a philosophy that we try not to have a flag for offsetting personal fouls unless they're for unrelated acts. If two players go at it, we're either just breaking it up or we're trying to get the "first" foul. Flags on the ground don't really accomplish anything other than delaying the game. YMMV. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
It's up to associations to try to persuade members to be consistent from crew to crew on stuff like this, but since we don't assign games in our associations, all we can do is suggest. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31am. |