The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Last play of GB Seattle (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92493-last-play-gb-seattle.html)

JRutledge Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 855789)
It's a possession issue, which is not reviewable.

But it is a scoring play. And all NFL scoring plays are reviewed. Now maybe Jansen can quote the rulebook for the NFL which he has done in the past, but they review all scoring plays to my understanding. I believe this would be reviewable in NCAA too. I will look up the later to be sure.

Peace

Rita C Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 855776)
First of all the replay officials confirmed the call. Secondly a WH is a WH for a reason. They do not make many of those calls and he had not likely made those calls for several years. So yes I can take issue with his comments unless he gives an NFL difference in the rule. At the HS and NCAA level, that is a simultaneous catch based on the rules. You cannot intercept a ball in the air and then possession ends there. There were arms all over that ball and like someone else said, I could live with either call. But the Replay guys who are NFL guys from previous years made this call. ;)

Peace

The replay guys are not part of the lockout? So these are the regular replay guys? So why did they not overrule the GB touchdown? When his foot was out of bounds before the ball crossed the line?

Rita

Not a football official.

Texref Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:43pm

From 2011 case book for NFL:

A.R. 8.28 NOT A SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. A2 controls a pass in the air at the A40. B3 then also gets control of the ball before they land. As they land, A2 and B3 fall down to the ground. Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on A40. Not a simultaneous catch as A2 gains control first and retains control.

A.R. 8.29 NOT A SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. B3 controls a pass in the air at the A40 before A2, who then also controls the ball before they land. As they land, A2 and B3 fall down to the ground. Ruling: B’s ball, first-and-10 on A40. Not a simultaneous catch as B3 gains control first and retains control. (B

hog Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 855791)
But it is a scoring play. And all NFL scoring plays are reviewed. Now maybe Jansen can quote the rulebook for the NFL which he has done in the past, but they review all scoring plays to my understanding. I believe this would be reviewable in NCAA too. I will look up the later to be sure.

Peace

I believe you miss the point. Yes, the play is reviewable to see if the ball hit the ground, feet in bounds, etc; but you cannot review the who has possession part of the play as was ruled on the field.

BktBallRef Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 855791)
But it is a scoring play. And all NFL scoring plays are reviewed. Now maybe Jansen can quote the rulebook for the NFL which he has done in the past, but they review all scoring plays to my understanding. I believe this would be reviewable in NCAA too. I will look up the later to be sure.

Peace

Make no difference Jeff. Gerry Austin stated that possession is not reviewable, even during a scoring play. The officials ruled the receiver has possession, therefore the replay official has no other choice than to confirm he is in the EZ and it's a TD.

InsideTheStripe Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 855792)
The replay guys are not part of the lockout? So these are the regular replay guys? So why did they not overrule the GB touchdown? When his foot was out of bounds before the ball crossed the line?

If you're talking about the Jennings play, the crew did.

The replay guys in the NFL don't have the final decision. The R is tasked with that decision after reviewing the available film and getting input from the booth.

JRutledge Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 855795)
Make no difference Jeff. Gerry Austin stated that possession is not reviewable, even during a scoring play. The officials ruled the receiver has possession, therefore the replay official has no other choice than to confirm he is in the EZ and it's a TD.

I see what you are saying.

Peace

canuckrefguy Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texref (Post 855793)
From 2011 case book for NFL:

A.R. 8.28 NOT A SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. A2 controls a pass in the air at the A40. B3 then also gets control of the ball before they land. As they land, A2 and B3 fall down to the ground. Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on A40. Not a simultaneous catch as A2 gains control first and retains control.

A.R. 8.29 NOT A SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. B3 controls a pass in the air at the A40 before A2, who then also controls the ball before they land. As they land, A2 and B3 fall down to the ground. Ruling: B’s ball, first-and-10 on A40. Not a simultaneous catch as B3 gains control first and retains control. (B

Was the play in question tonight not one of these two scenarios? Would the cases be handled differently in NCAA and NFHS?

Texref Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 855798)
Was the play in question tonight not one of these two scenarios? Would the cases be handled differently in NCAA and NFHS?

I don't ref football, but yes I believe that both of these case plays were the play tonight. Both say possession in the air. Not sure what I'm missing, but I think it should be an interception by rule. Hs and ncaa, I don't have a clue, like I said, not a fb ref.

JRutledge Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 855798)
Was the play in question tonight not one of these two scenarios? Would the cases be handled differently in NCAA and NFHS?

The top one is.

And not it would not be handled much differently other than the fact that in NCAA and NF the players do not have to get two feet down to establish control of some kind. Even in NCAA you have to complete the process of the catch and coming to the ground would matter with at least a foot. ;)

Peace

Texref Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:00am

Btw, here is a link to NFL rules and case book...

NFL.com Rulebook

just another ref Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:17am

Without being burdened by rules knowledge on the subject, NFL or any other level, here is what I saw: Packer defender went up and caught the ball at its highest point, gathering it to his chest with both arms locked tightly around it,
where it remained securely in this position until the defender landed on the ground. At around the same time, the receiver grabbed the ball with both hands, then briefly released with one hand to get a deeper hold with that hand and forearm as the pile went to the ground.

If, by rule, this is a touchdown, the rule sucks.

JRutledge Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 855803)
Without being burdened by rules knowledge on the subject, NFL or any other level, here is what I saw: Packer defender went up and caught the ball at its highest point, gathering it to his chest with both arms locked tightly around it,
where it remained securely in this position until the defender landed on the ground. At around the same time, the receiver grabbed the ball with both hands, then briefly released with one hand to get a deeper hold with that hand and forearm as the pile went to the ground.

If, by rule, this is a touchdown, the rule sucks.

The rule is in place so that we will not be splitting hairs over who had the ball first when they have not fulfilled other parts of the catch. I think the rule is fine, this was just on National TV and ESPN has their panties in a bunch over this call on their network (remember they get ratings buy ranting about this all day).

Peace

Adam Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 855804)
The rule is in place so that we will not be splitting hairs over who had the ball first when they have not fulfilled other parts of the catch. I think the rule is fine, this was just on National TV and ESPN has their panties in a bunch over this call on their network (remember they get ratings buy ranting about this all day).

Peace

I know I'll be listening to music on the radio tomorrow.

But part of the problem is, whether this was the right call or not, the credibility of the officials has been destroyed over the last few weeks.

JRutledge Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 855805)
I know I'll be listening to music on the radio tomorrow.

But part of the problem is, whether this was the right call or not, the credibility of the officials has been destroyed over the last few weeks.

All the media has done a great job in making everything into a major case as if they would not complain otherwise. This is why these guys IMO should have never done this in the first place. The s**t storm is coming no matter what they do. And many of their careers will basically be over as they know it. That is OK for a guy or two that only did this at the very end of their career and had nothing to lose, but for those that still could work, now they will be marred with this crap for some time.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1