![]() |
NCAA Question
At a college D1 (FBS) game today and saw a penalty I wasn't sure was spotted correctly. Team A at B's 24. DPI committed in the end zone. Ball was spotted at B's 9 yard line. Shouldn't the ball have been at the 12, or does DPI go 15 and not half the distance? I'm trying to find a cite but coming up empty. Any help would be appreciated- this was the first time I'd seen DPI called in such a short field (and actually paid attention to the spot).
|
DPI (except during a try) is exempt from the half the distance provision. The penalty was enforced correctly.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
We used the following "catch phase" for DPI ... "spot, 15 or 2; which ever comes first."
Translated it means from the Line of Scrimmage (outside the 2 yard line): 1 ... if you come to the DPI spot before you go 15 yards, it is a Spot Foul 2 ... if you go 15 yards before you reach the DPI spot, it is a 15 yard penality 3 ... if you reach the 2 yard line before you react the DPI spot or 15 yards, the enforcement spot is the 2 yard line. 4 ... if snapped inside the 2 yard line, half the distance. These may not apply today ... it has been a while since I read the NCAA Rules. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22pm. |