![]() |
untimed down?
with 4 seconds remaining in the 1st quarter team A has a dead ball false start penalty. team B accepts the penalty. the referee winds the clock and the clock runs out before team A can snap the ball. do we have an untimed down?
|
I would say no since this was not during the last time down.
ART. 3 . . . A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period, one of the following occurred: a. There was a foul by either team and the penalty is accepted, except for those fouls listed in 3-3-4b. b. There was a double foul. c. There was an inadvertent whistle. d. If a touchdown was scored, the try is attempted unless the touchdown is scored during the last down of the fourth period and the point(s) would not affect the outcome of the game or playoff qualifying. If (a), (b), (c) or (d) occurs during the untimed down, the procedure is repeated. |
NFHS, no untamed down. If its the 4th Q, I probably tell A the clock will run.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The purpose of the rule is to keep a team who's behind at the end of the half/game from intentionally fouling to gain an advantage.
|
I say yes. Live ball accepted foul end of quarter, there is always an untimed down, even if there are a few seconds left on the clock, and it runs out.
nfhs case book, rule 3, 3.3.3B |
Quote:
|
Oops..I missed that part! sorry
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39am. |