The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Hopefully quick question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92434-hopefully-quick-question.html)

Rufus Mon Sep 17, 2012 02:05pm

Hopefully quick question
 
Basketball official with what I'm hoping is a simple question (and I ask forgiveness for the lack of correct terminology I'm bound to use) - when a ball carrier steps out of bounds I've noticed that the clock sometimes doesn't stop. Is there a reason for this? Does it depend on if they voluntarily step out vs. get forced out? Does it vary by rule set being used?

Thanks in advance.

maven Mon Sep 17, 2012 02:16pm

The clock will not stop if the runner's forward progress is clearly stopped in the field of play (so he's pushed out upfield of where he's initially contacted).

True in NFL, NCAA, and NFHS.

jTheUmp Mon Sep 17, 2012 02:17pm

Depends on the ruleset being used.

NFHS: Clock stops when a runner goes OOB, and starts again on the next snap.

NCAA: Clock stops when a runner goes OOB, and starts again either on the Referee's signal (with more than 2 minutes left in the first or second half) or on the next snap (less than 2 minutes in the half).

NFL: I think this is the same as NCAA, but I'm not completely sure.

Canadian: No clue. :)

Note that this assumes the runner's forward progress was not stopped prior to going OOB. If the runner's forward progress is stopped prior to going OOB, the clock will continue to run (Unless, in FED and NCAA, the runner has reached the line-to-gain). Watch the covering official in this case, if you see him/her doing the winding motion, the runner's forward progress was stopped prior to going OOB.

Welpe Mon Sep 17, 2012 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 854850)
The clock will not stop if the runner's forward progress is clearly stopped in the field of play (so he's pushed out upfield of where he's initially contacted).

True in NFL, NCAA, and NFHS.


What he said. In NCAA if a runner goes out of bounds with more than 2 minutes left in the half, the clock will stop but will start on the ready for play instead of the snap.

APG Mon Sep 17, 2012 02:31pm

NFL: Under 2 minutes in the first half and under 5 minutes in the 2nd half, if a runner goes OOB, the clock will start on the snap. Otherwise, the clock will be stopped but started again once the ball is spotted.

JugglingReferee Mon Sep 17, 2012 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 854851)
Canadian: No clue. :)

If forward progress is inbounds, we stop the clock because the ball went OB, but we start on the ready.

If forward progress is OB, we stop the clock because the ball went OB, but we start on the snap only after the 3mw.

Rufus Tue Sep 18, 2012 07:17am

Thanks everyone, that clears it up!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1