The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Play (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92390-play.html)

ChickenOfNC Thu Sep 13, 2012 02:29pm

Play
 
A12 pass is intercepted at the B4 yard line by B23. B23's momentum carries him into the endzone, where he is downed. During B23's run, A13 blocks in the back at the B10 yard line. Spot of enforcement?

HLin NC Thu Sep 13, 2012 02:36pm

B4 yl

Momentum rule brings the ball back out to the B4.

ChickenOfNC Thu Sep 13, 2012 02:39pm

I agree w/ B4 as well.

Have some around me saying goal line, and even 20yd line.

HLin NC Thu Sep 13, 2012 03:07pm

They might want to read the momentum exception.:confused:

maven Thu Sep 13, 2012 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC (Post 854363)
I agree w/ B4 as well.

Have some around me saying goal line, and even 20yd line.

Since the basic spot for this running play is the end of the run, the confusion you're encountering stems from uncertainty about where that is. Although the runner was downed in the EZ, by rule the end of the run is the spot of the catch/recovery when the momentum rule is in effect.

10-3-3: The end of the run is:

c. The spot of the catch or recovery when the momentum rule is in effect.

Reffing Rev. Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:14pm

Agree with previous posts, but would ask the covering official if 9-3-5-b may have applied...
A player shall not clip or block an opponent in the back except: using hands and arms to contact an opponent above the waist in warding off a blocker, or when attempting to reach a runner, or catch or recover a loose ball which he may legally touch or possess.

just somethings else to think about.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1