![]() |
1st & Goal, or 10?
Can't find the answer to this:
Team A, 4th and Goal on B's 28. A12 throws incomplete pass toward A84. B33 is guilty of defensive pass interference on A84. From previous spot, enforce penalty half the distance to B's 14, with Team A awarded a first down. Question: is it 1st & Goal, or 1st & 10? |
Since the previous spot was on the 28 and half the distance is on the 14, then it would be first and 10. The only way it would be first and goal is if this was somehow overtime. Otherwise, not sure where you would find anything in the rulebook that states this is first and 10 considering you would not have 1st and goal from the 14 without some penalty or overtime like I stated.
Peace |
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
You didn't say where on the field the DPI happens. In Canada, DPI is a spot foul, but with a max of 15 unrestricted yards. And it becomes 1D/10. (It would only become "and goal" if the new spot was inside the 10.) Since the full 15 would move the ball only as close as the 13, it would always be 1D/10 is enforced from the 28. |
FED 2-27-5: The line to gain is the yard line established when a new series (first
down) is awarded. Unless there is a penalty following the ready-for-play signal, the line to gain is 10 yards in advance of the foremost point of the ball when placed for the first down of the series. lf the line to gain extends into the end zone, the goal line is the line to gain. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
We went 1/10. New series awarded.
Team B HC wanted 4th and goal. Because, "I've been coaching 25 years and DPI has never been an automatic first down penalty." That kinda night. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55pm. |