The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Ten second runoff? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92317-ten-second-runoff.html)

jTheUmp Sun Sep 02, 2012 04:16pm

Ten second runoff?
 
Situation happened in an NCAA game yesterday that I was observing.

12 seconds left in the 4th quarter. Team A's ball at the B-15ish, 3rd and 9. Team A has no timeouts remaining.

A's pass is complete, and A86 is tackled in bounds at the B-3 with 0.5 seconds left.

Clock stops to reset the down box.

Before R blows the RFP, A snaps the ball, causing a delay-of-game foul on A.

Should there be a ten-second runoff in this situation?

According to the spirit and intent of the rules, I say "yes"... Team A has gained an advantage by fouling (giving themselves more time to set up for a final shot at the end zone).
However, as the rule is currently written, I say "no":
Quote:

Originally Posted by NCAA 3-4-4-a
With the game clock running and less than one minute remaining in either half, if a player of either team b][commits a foul that causes the clock to stop[/b], the officials may subtract 10 seconds at the option of the offended team.

(*snip*)

(emphasis mine)
This foul did not cause the clock to stop... the clock was not running when the foul occurred. Thus, a 10-second runoff is not possible.

None of the Approved Rulings address this situation.

Thoughts?

JRutledge Sun Sep 02, 2012 06:29pm

Well the penalty did not stop the clock so I would say no without an AR situation to say otherwise. And they are going to lose yards, so I would not see this as if A benefited from the foul.

Peace

JugglingReferee Mon Sep 03, 2012 04:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 853080)
Situation happened in an NCAA game yesterday that I was observing.

12 seconds left in the 4th quarter. Team A's ball at the B-15ish, 3rd and 9. Team A has no timeouts remaining.

A's pass is complete, and A86 is tackled in bounds at the B-3 with 0.5 seconds left.

Clock stops to reset the down box.

Before R blows the RFP, A snaps the ball, causing a delay-of-game foul on A.

Should there be a ten-second runoff in this situation?

According to the spirit and intent of the rules, I say "yes"... Team A has gained an advantage by fouling (giving themselves more time to set up for a final shot at the end zone).
However, as the rule is currently written, I say "no":

(emphasis mine)
This foul did not cause the clock to stop... the clock was not running when the foul occurred. Thus, a 10-second runoff is not possible.

None of the Approved Rulings address this situation.

Thoughts?

Your game had the clock stopped. The rule says the clock is running to subtract 10 seconds.

Easy decision.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1