The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Free Blocking Zone Federation Rules (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92279-free-blocking-zone-federation-rules.html)

splitveer Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:17pm

Free Blocking Zone Federation Rules
 
I am curious as to the free blocking zone. I am getting some different opinions on a Tight end chop blocking a Defensive End that is lined up on the outside shoulder of the Offensive Tackle. The tackle is not making any contact with the Defensive End. This is not a contact high/low situation. This is simply the TE chop blocking the DE.

1. Can this be legal in any form...for example...the TE is foot to foot with the Offensive Tackle?

2. Is this an illegal block no matter what?

3. Please explain your opinions in this with detail.

Thank you so much for your help on this.

mbyron Fri Aug 24, 2012 05:59am

You're not talking about a chop block, which is always high/low and always illegal. You're talking about cutting, or a legal block below the waist.

NFHS 2-17:

ART. 1 . . . The free-blocking zone is a rectangular area extending laterally 4
yards either side of the spot of the snap and 3 yards behind each line of
scrimmage. A player is in the free-blocking zone when any part of his body is in
the zone at the snap.
ART. 2 . . . Blocking below the waist is permitted in the free-blocking zone
when the following conditions are met:
a. All players involved in the blocking are on the line of scrimmage and in the
zone at the snap.
b. The contact is in the zone.



The covering official must judge whether all the conditions on a legal block below the waist have been met. If your TE is in the zone and cuts on his initial charge at the snap, that will probably be a legal block below the waist. Notice that the defender need not be "opposite" the O-lineman.

bigjohn Fri Aug 24, 2012 06:08am

Size matters!

4 yards looks different to everyone and if any part of the defender is in the FBZ he can be cut blocked.

tomes1978 Fri Aug 24, 2012 06:14am

It would depend on how wide the tight end is. If he is in the free blocking zone then he can cut the D-end who would also be in the FBZ. However, I don't think there are too many offenses where the tight end would be within four yards of the ball. There is one team in my area who runs so wide thier tackes were out of the FBZ.

bigjohn Fri Aug 24, 2012 06:18am

http://uhsaa.org/clinics/2012/2012%2...esentation.pdf

There is a slide on this that shows the FBZ

mbyron Fri Aug 24, 2012 06:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomes1978 (Post 852457)
It would depend on how wide the tight end is. If he is in the free blocking zone then he can cut the D-end who would also be in the FBZ. However, I don't think there are too many offenses where the tight end would be within four yards of the ball. There is one team in my area who runs so wide thier tackes were out of the FBZ.

Remember: if he has one foot in (or even a part of a foot), he's in. 2-17-1

bisonlj Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:23pm

You would be surprised how wide 4 yards is. The TE can often be in the FBZ. In normal splits there is a good chance at least his inside foot is in the zone.

BktBallRef Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 852577)
You would be surprised how wide 4 yards is. The TE can often be in the FBZ. In normal splits there is a good chance at least his inside foot is in the zone.


Agreed. I look at each team as they run sets before the game. If the TE looks likes he's going to be outside the FBZ, I discuss it with other crew members so everyone is one the same page.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1