The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Two? Changes of Possession (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92216-two-changes-possession.html)

ddn Fri Aug 10, 2012 07:49pm

Two? Changes of Possession
 
On fourth down and 10 with the game clock running, B30 intercepts A10’s pass and then fumbles the ball on the return, where it is recovered by Team A.

I had "1st and 10 for A and clock starts on the snap" based on 3.4.3.d since a change of possession occurred. According to the computer grading me, I'm wrong....


3.4.3 SITUATION D:

With third and 10:

(a) A1 fumbles the ball and B recovers, or
(b) A1's pass is intercepted by B. When will the clock be restarted?

RULING: Since a change of possession has occurred in both (a) and (b) and B is awarded a new series of downs, the clock will start on the snap.

Rule: 2-34-3

ART. 3 . . . A change of possession occurs when the opponent gains player possession during the down.


JugglingReferee Fri Aug 10, 2012 09:19pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ddn (Post 851574)
On fourth down and 10 with the game clock running, B30 intercepts A10’s pass and then fumbles the ball on the return, where it is recovered by Team A.

CANADIAN RULING:

Team A 1D/10, clock on the snap if after the 3mw, or on the RFP otherwise.

mbyron Fri Aug 10, 2012 09:37pm

Your ruling is incorrect. The case play references rule 3-4-3b, which states that the clock begins on the snap when B is awarded a new series. But in your play, A is awarded a new series, so 3-4-3b does not apply.

In order to justify your ruling that the clock should start on the snap, you need to find a provision of rule 3-4-3 that covers your case. Which provision is it?

ump33 Fri Aug 10, 2012 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ddn (Post 851574)
On fourth down and 10 with the game clock running, B30 intercepts A10’s pass and then fumbles the ball on the return, where it is recovered by Team A.

I had "1st and 10 for A and clock starts on the snap" based on 3.4.3.d since a change of possession occurred. According to the computer grading me, I'm wrong....


3.4.3 SITUATION D:

With third and 10:

(a) A1 fumbles the ball and B recovers, or
(b) A1's pass is intercepted by B. When will the clock be restarted?

RULING: Since a change of possession has occurred in both (a) and (b) and B is awarded a new series of downs, the clock will start on the snap.

Rule: 2-34-3

ART. 3 . . . A change of possession occurs when the opponent gains player possession during the down.


1st & 10 for A, clock starts on the ready is correct.

Using the term "change of possession" can get you in trouble with starting the clock. Rules 3-4-3b & 3-4-3c state the clock will start on the snap when B is awarded a new series or either team is awarded a new series after a legal kick.

Here is a jingle to help with change of possession on a non-kick play ... A-B-A Ready for Play.

mbyron ... sorry for the "post over", my "search & peck" typing skills are on the slow side.

waltjp Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:27am

A-B-A, Ready for play.

CT1 Sat Aug 11, 2012 06:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp (Post 851580)
A-B-A, Ready for play.

Which makes sense, since A's offense is still on the field. The rationale for starting on the snap after kick plays is to let the teams change personnel.

mbyron Sat Aug 11, 2012 06:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ump33 (Post 851579)
mbyron ... sorry for the "post over", my "search & peck" typing skills are on the slow side.

Not at all: you added "A-B-A, Ready for Play!" I'd never heard that.

Now Walt's post over.... :D

ddn Sat Aug 11, 2012 07:47am

Thanks all - it is quite obvious looking at it this morning:D

waltjp Sat Aug 11, 2012 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 851582)
Now Walt's post over.... :D

Can I blame "hunt and peck" typing skills? :D

mbyron Sat Aug 11, 2012 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp (Post 851585)
Can I blame "hunt and peck" typing skills? :D

Sure, but nearly 3 hours?!? :D

waltjp Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 851586)
Sure, but nearly 3 hours?!? :D

I didn't say I was any good at it!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1