The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Batting / Stripping ball (https://forum.officiating.com/football/8700-batting-stripping-ball.html)

mikesears Tue May 20, 2003 07:44am

Play 1:
1/10 @ A-20 with 1:00 remaining in Q4 score A: 14, B: 7. A7 hands the ball to A23. B99 breaks through a block and approaches A23. Instead of attempting to tackle A23, B99 raises his hand and strike downward on the ball. In other words, the ONLY contact made is B99's hand striking the ball. A23 fumbles and B99 recovers at the A-18. Results?

Play 2:
4/4 at the B-6 with :10 remaining in Q4. Score is A: 10, B: 14. A23 is running the ball and B94 begins a tackle at the B-5. Seeing that A23 won't make the line to gain or score a touchdown, A7 runs up to A23 and bats the ball from behind sending the ball out of bounds at the B-1. There are :02 remaining. Results?


nvfoa15 Tue May 20, 2003 09:15am

I don't have my rule books here but...

Play 1: B 1/10 A18. I don't see anything illegal about this play.

Play 2: I know there are rules regarding batting a ball in flight but I can't think of any that conform to this situation (a player batting the ball from his team mate's possession), therefore A 1/G B1.

mikesears Tue May 20, 2003 09:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by nvfoa15
I don't have my rule books here but...

Play 1: B 1/10 A18. I don't see anything illegal about this play.


Play 2: I know there are rules regarding batting a ball in flight but I can't think of any that conform to this situation (a player batting the ball from his team mate's possession), therefore A 1/G B1.


See NFHS rule 9-7-4. Does this apply to this situation?


Smiley Tue May 20, 2003 10:58am

Yes, I believe it does.

JMN Tue May 20, 2003 11:23am

NCAA Ruling
 
NCAA ruling 9-4-3

"A ball in player possession may not be batted forward by a player of that team" PENALTY - 15yds from the basic spot.

On Play 2, B's options are:

1) Decline the penalty and since the ball was fumbled forward by A short of the line to gain at the B5 on 4th down, B 1/10 @ B5 (B takes a knee and the game is over). Clock on ready.

2) Assuming the bat occurred at the B5, if B elected to take the penalty, then A 4/18 @ B20.

Comments?

mikesears Tue May 20, 2003 12:35pm

I guess my real question is this. Is it a foul if the defense tries to strip the ball from the offense by striking at the ball?



JMN Tue May 20, 2003 12:57pm

I believe it is legal for the defense provided that they do not strike the A player. If so, it's a personal foul.

Ed Hickland Wed May 21, 2003 09:07am

Re: NCAA Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JMN
NCAA ruling 9-4-3

"A ball in player possession may not be batted forward by a player of that team" PENALTY - 15yds from the basic spot.

On Play 2, B's options are:

1) Decline the penalty and since the ball was fumbled forward by A short of the line to gain at the B5 on 4th down, B 1/10 @ B5 (B takes a knee and the game is over). Clock on ready.

2) Assuming the bat occurred at the B5, if B elected to take the penalty, then A 4/18 @ B20.

Comments?

Ditto for NFHS, Rule 9-7-4.

The referee should NEVER let B take option 2 in this particular situation.

Schmidt MJ Wed May 21, 2003 12:30pm

Re: NCAA Ruling
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by JMN
[B]NCAA ruling 9-4-3

1) Decline the penalty and since the ball was fumbled forward by A short of the line to gain at the B5 on 4th down, B 1/10 @ B5 (B takes a knee and the game is over). Clock on ready.

When B is awarded a new series of downs here then the clock will start on the snap, not the ready.

JMN Wed May 21, 2003 12:55pm

You're right, Schmidt.

Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1