The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Old Topics (https://forum.officiating.com/football/8566-old-topics.html)

Derock1986 Sun May 11, 2003 10:54am

Hello fellas! Been a while since I been here and I miss the discussions. If you recall, I like to stir things up (makes for interesting debates, reading, and learning?) I have a few old topics I want to reopen because they were never clearly resolved (in my view).

Topic #1: Tackling the pitchman on a run option without the ball--legal or illegal or no call?

Topic #2: A88 attempting to receive a pass runs into B21 who is unaware of the pass and standing between A88 and the ball--legal or illegal or no call?

Topic #3: 4th down in sudden death overtime. Team A attempts a field goal and misses. Player B1 makes slight contact with the kicker but not enough to displace the kicker. The kicker intentionally spins and falls--legal or illegal or no call?


_________________________
Derock
"But I'm Only a Youth Official So What Do I Know."

BktBallRef Sun May 11, 2003 11:57pm

#3 - That's easy. THere's no such thing as sudden death in NFHS or NCAA.

mikesears Mon May 12, 2003 07:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by Derock1986
Hello fellas! Been a while since I been here and I miss the discussions. If you recall, I like to stir things up (makes for interesting debates, reading, and learning?) I have a few old topics I want to reopen because they were never clearly resolved (in my view).

Topic #1: Tackling the pitchman on a run option without the ball--legal or illegal or no call?



I think everyone who frequently posts here said the same thing. You can't tackle a person who isn't a runner or pretending to be a runner. A pitchman is not pretending to be a runner. He is POTENTIALLY a runner, but potentially being a runner isn't the criteria.


Quote:

Originally posted by Derock1986
Topic #2: A88 attempting to receive a pass runs into B21 who is unaware of the pass and standing between A88 and the ball--legal or illegal or no call?


Difficult to make a call without actually seeing the play. Per rule, P.I. occurs when a player from either team interferes with an opponent's opportunity to move toward, bat, or catch a pass. P.I does NOT occur when contact is unavoidable and both players are making a SIMULTANEOUS, bona fide attempt to move toward, catch, or bat the pass.

Quote:

Originally posted by Derock1986
Topic #3: 4th down in sudden death overtime. Team A attempts a field goal and misses. Player B1 makes slight contact with the kicker but not enough to displace the kicker. The kicker intentionally spins and falls--legal or illegal or no call?


Here is my interp of the play using NFHS rules. Slight contact that does not displace the kicker should be ignored. The acting job should be ignored. It is SOLEY up to the R to determine if the contact displaced the kicker and/or if there was an acting job.



[Edited by mikesears on May 12th, 2003 at 07:46 AM]

ABoselli Mon May 12, 2003 07:49pm

They were crystal clear to all with one exception. Seems thats still the case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1