![]() |
NCAA timeout and challenge
If a team on defense calls a timeout to challenge the spot on a first down by the offense and is successful, when does the game clock restart?
Thanks |
I am almost positive it starts just like it would if the challenge was not made.
Peace |
NCAA 3-3-2
e. Starts on the Referee’s Signal. For each of the following reasons, the game clock is stopped on an official’s signal. If the next play begins with a snap, the game clock will start on the referee’s signal: 10. A head coach’s conference or instant-replay challenge is requested. |
Quote:
The game clock was first stopped on a made first down. Then the defense took a charged timeout. During the charged timeout replay officials overturned the first down spot. The game clock resumed on the next snap which I figure was correct under 3-3-2-f Snap Supercedes Referee’s Signal. Whenever one or more incidents that cause the game clock to be started on the referee’s signal (Rule 3-3-2-e) occur in conjunction with any that cause it to be started on the snap (Rules 3-3-2-c and 3-3-2-d), it shall be started on the snap. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46pm. |