![]() |
Helping the runner?
|
Quote:
|
SECTION 1 HELPING THE RUNNER
An offensive player shall not push, pull or lift the runner to assist his forward progress. PENALTY: Helping the runner (S44) – 5 yards. So you are saying when he was pulled out of the tackle, that didn't assist his forward progress? :rolleyes: |
For once, BJ, you may actually have a case.
|
Quote:
Peace |
Looks like significant pulling action to me, helping the runner regain balance.
|
Quote:
No coach, fan or official, with half a brain would call this in live action. No coach, fan, or official, with the other half of the brain in question would call this over a week after it happened knowing that this running back put up the following line in this game... 35 carries / 326 yards (only 1 for a loss) / 6 touchdowns / 9.3 yds per carry The team's line for the game.... 60 carries / 436 yards (only 13 for a loss) / 6 touchdowns / 7.3 yds per carry They didn't need any help. |
Kind of puts it in perspective if you ask me. ;)
Peace |
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
Not even close to a foul. |
The stats or rest of the game have nothing to do with this foul It should have been called and I said it when it happened.
Everyone there knew it should have been called but no one wants to pee on anyones parade at the State Finals. |
Obviously this is a judgment as to whether the runner would have broken away on his own. But watch the clip again, focusing only on #12. What was his objective at the crucial moment? He certainly wasn't looking to block anyone.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Well I bet half the people there would have agreed with the official had he called it! :)
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07pm. |