![]() |
When does a down begin
Does a down begin at the ready or when it is snapped?, I could not find clear answer in rule book.
Also the background to this question is the whole New Mexico mess where the refs started the clock after a penalty. I saw this argument but I'm not convinced : Rule 3-3-3 -Me: I was. ... 3-3-3 A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last time down of the period there was a foul by either team and the penalty is accepted the argument made was that since there was a penalty on the last play of the game the game should have been at least extended one untimed down. However, if a down starts at the ready and no at the snap then there was no penalty during the last time down and therefore the situation was handled correctly. |
Quote:
|
2-7-1 A down is action which starts with a legal snap or when the ball is kicked on a free kick.
The try starts on the ready-for-play per 8-3-2. For penalty enforcement, the ready-for-play will determine how a penalty will be enforced and what the down would be for a dead ball foul. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34pm. |