The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Offensive PI Question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/81942-offensive-pi-question.html)

bainsey Sat Oct 08, 2011 07:07pm

Offensive PI Question
 
I don't officiate football, so I seek thoughts from those here.

NCAA rules set. QB-18 completes pass to TE-88, while being covered and tackled quickly by LB-60. About five yards downfield from the catch/tackle, WR-6 is flagged for offensive pass interference while holding FS-5.

Simply put, is "involved of the play" considered for pass interference?

JugglingReferee Sun Oct 09, 2011 08:16am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 792264)
I don't officiate football, so I seek thoughts from those here.

NCAA rules set. QB-18 completes pass to TE-88, while being covered and tackled quickly by LB-60. About five yards downfield from the catch/tackle, WR-6 is flagged for offensive pass interference while holding FS-5.

Simply put, is "involved of the play" considered for pass interference?

CANADIAN RULING:

OPI if not a screen pass.

bisonlj Mon Oct 10, 2011 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 792264)
I don't officiate football, so I seek thoughts from those here.

NCAA rules set. QB-18 completes pass to TE-88, while being covered and tackled quickly by LB-60. About five yards downfield from the catch/tackle, WR-6 is flagged for offensive pass interference while holding FS-5.

Simply put, is "involved of the play" considered for pass interference?

This is only OPI if he was doing this before the pass was caught beyond the LOS. If he is blocking/holding it could be a key to other defenders that it is a running play or a pass behind the LOS so the safety could collapse toward the LOS and free up the receiver to gain more yards. If he's "holding" then it would possibly be a foul regardless of timing with the catch. If he is 5 yards beyond the end of the run and held after the catch, you probably don't have a foul because A gained no advantage from the hold.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1