The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Legal Shift (https://forum.officiating.com/football/81537-legal-shift.html)

BoBo Fri Sep 30, 2011 01:13pm

Legal Shift
 
Local coach wanted this posted

Tight End trade question. When a tight end starts on the line and the receiver is off. Then the TE steps off, rec steps on so the TE can go in motion.
My question is, can the TE have his hand on the ground and then come out of his stance. I was under the impression that once his hand is on the ground, he can’t come up.
What is the rule?

CT1 Fri Sep 30, 2011 01:28pm

If the TE is "covered up" it's a false start for him to pick his hand up off the ground, since he's an interior lineman. If he's "uncovered", he may pick up his hand, provided he doesn't simulate the start of the play.

Welpe Fri Sep 30, 2011 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 790858)
If the TE is "covered up" it's a false start for him to pick his hand up off the ground, since he's an interior lineman. If he's "uncovered", he may pick up his hand, provided he doesn't simulate the start of the play.

Precisely. Sounds like the TE was not covered so this would be legal.

MD Longhorn Fri Sep 30, 2011 03:25pm

Remove the TE and WR nomenclature from your mind, it's muddying things for you. The player ON THE END of the line (regardless of how far he is from his next door neighbor - i.e. regardless of whether you'd call him TE, WR, flanker, split end, tackle, third baseman, or Fred) has certain rights, assuming he is numbered properly to have those rights.

Remember that and you'll be clear on items like the question in the OP.

Forksref Sun Oct 02, 2011 12:10am

If the TE is covered up, he is no longer a tight END (he's not on the end of the line) and therefore is not entitled to move once he is in a three-point stance. MB is right. Get the terminology straight.

We had a coach tell us a few years back that his TE (covered up) was eligible to go downfield on passes. After several flags, he still didn't get it. We tried to explain it to him at half-time to no avail. It's sad how many coaches coach the kids wrong because the coach doesn't know the rules. It's the kids who suffer because of the coaches' ignorance of the rules.

HLin NC Sun Oct 02, 2011 07:35am

As is often said Read Rule 2, then read it again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1