![]() |
touchback, or not?
I am unable to find any reference relative to the position of the feet, of K members, on a punt, when attempting to bat ball back at goal line. As long as the ball as not broken the plane, can their feet actually be across the goal line, and legally bat the ball?
|
I think the level you are talking about would help us answer what you are looking for exactly. All I will say at this time is the feet mean nothing at the NF (HS) or NCAA level in determining a touch back on any kick, no matter who is touching the ball.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Only the NFL cares about K's feet.
|
Quote:
Rule 9, Section 2, Article 2 Item 2: If a player of the kicking team touches the goal line with any part of his body while touching the ball, the ball is dead, and the result of the play is a touchback. Note: The spot of first touching is normally the yard line at which the ball is at when touched. If the first touching occurs while the ball is in the air above or beyond the goal line, and prior to the ball touching the goal line or the ground beyond the goal line, the spot of first touching is deemed to be the spot from which the touching player left the field of play, but in no event inside the receiving team’s one-yard line. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am. |