The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   One set of lights go out (https://forum.officiating.com/football/81042-one-set-lights-go-out.html)

vcblue Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:41am

One set of lights go out
 
SoCal SS. field has 4 light poles. On a punt with the ball in the air all the lights of one of the poles on the opposite side of the filed goes out. punt receiver does not catch ball. Punt team downs ball on 1 yard line. Should the ball be re-kick after the lights come back on or do you play from the 1 yard line? My understanding is the punt receiver lost track of ball due to lights going out (if this makes a difference).

vcblue Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:47am

Is there a rule that covers this type of situation?

InsideTheStripe Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by vcblue (Post 789462)
Is there a rule that covers this type of situation?

I almost never bring this one out, but it would seem to fit if a receiver's vision is impacted by a light bank going out. I'd be apt to make K re-kick.


1-1-6 The referee has authority to rule promptly, and in the spirit of good sportsmanship, on any situation not specifically covered in the rules. The referee’s decisions are final in all matters pertaining to the game.

JugglingReferee Sat Sep 24, 2011 06:30am

There's an elastic power rule for a reason.

I'd reset the game clock to what it was pre-RFP and make K re-play 4th down.

HLin NC Sat Sep 24, 2011 07:58am

The back judge better be able to articulate that is why he thought the punt returner did not field the ball.

HTBT moment.

vcblue Sat Sep 24, 2011 11:38am

I know in softball there are a percentage of lights that must be on in order to start or continue a game. Isn't there some thing like that in the CIF SS rules?

jchamp Sat Sep 24, 2011 06:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vcblue (Post 789518)
I know in softball there are a percentage of lights that must be on in order to start or continue a game. Isn't there some thing like that in the CIF SS rules?

I'm working in Southern Nevada, we use the CIF adoptions, but it's my first year here, so I'd be interested in knowing for sure if this is the case, and what the ruling is. Otherwise, if the BJ really thinks that it screwed things up, he should be able to ask R to treat it like an IW and replay the down when the lights are back on.

bigjohn Sat Sep 24, 2011 07:45pm

Should have just blown a whistle and then you would be able to call it an IW.

vcblue Sat Sep 24, 2011 09:47pm

I guess you would call it a case. Happen last night against the league's top two teams. I don't officiate football but believe it is the first rule of an official to ensure a safe and even playing field.

Forksref Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 789569)
Should have just blown a whistle and then you would be able to call it an IW.


or butt blocking.

Rich Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Forksref (Post 789664)
or butt blocking.

Damn, I haven't laughed that hard on this board in quite some time.

Forksref Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 789761)
Damn, I haven't laughed that hard on this board in quite some time.

Agreed. We need to get John going! This board is too boring right now.:mad:

BktBallRef Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:41pm

"...one of the poles..."

Pfffttt! Wait until you have ALL of the poles go out! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1