The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   enforcement/1st down question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/80824-enforcement-1st-down-question.html)

cdoug Wed Sep 21, 2011 01:14pm

enforcement/1st down question
 
I don't have my books here and wanted to make sure I had this right.

A's ball 4th and 10. Run ends 2 yards short of the LTG. After the play is blown dead B commits a personal foul.

I was thinking that because B's foul was a dead-ball foul it's now B's ball and enforce the penalty with B having a new series 15 yards behind where A's run ended. Correct? :o

KS_Blue Wed Sep 21, 2011 01:28pm

Yes. It will be B's ball 1 and 10, not 1 and 25.

mbyron Wed Sep 21, 2011 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cdoug (Post 788718)
A's ball 4th and 10. Run ends 2 yards short of the LTG. After the play is blown dead B commits a personal foul.

1/10 for B unless the PF occurs after the ready-for-play (probably not the case you're describing).

JRutledge Wed Sep 21, 2011 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cdoug (Post 788718)
I don't have my books here and wanted to make sure I had this right.

A's ball 4th and 10. Run ends 2 yards short of the LTG. After the play is blown dead B commits a personal foul.

I was thinking that because B's foul was a dead-ball foul it's now B's ball and enforce the penalty with B having a new series 15 yards behind where A's run ended. Correct? :o

My first reaction was to say, "Look it up yourself." But I thought better of it. :D

Just remember at our level we have no "automatic first downs" for PFs, so this should be easy to understand. If the line to gain is not reached by the team in possession at the end of the series, you reward the other team a new series unless you are enforcing a live ball foul where it awards the offended team an automatic first down. It will be always first and 10 in this situation unless there is some kind of half the distance issue for penalties like this.

Peace

JugglingReferee Wed Sep 21, 2011 06:55pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cdoug (Post 788718)
I don't have my books here and wanted to make sure I had this right.

A's ball 4th and 10. Run ends 2 yards short of the LTG. After the play is blown dead B commits a personal foul.

I was thinking that because B's foul was a dead-ball foul it's now B's ball and enforce the penalty with B having a new series 15 yards behind where A's run ended. Correct? :o

CANADIAN RULING:

Just follow order of operation. We do not have continuing action fouls. (Though I wish we did.)

Team B 1D/10 @ PBD - 15 yards.

cdoug Thu Sep 22, 2011 07:40am

Thanks guys. I thought that was the case.

I knew that it'd be 1/10 for B after the penalty enforcement (as long as I had everything else right), but evidently forgot to mention that.

MB - the scenerio I was going for was after the play but prior to the ready for play, so your assumption was right.

JRut - Thanks for thinking better of your first reaction. :D (Yes, I'd been following the other thread I think you're referring to also.) I actually did look it up before I got back on here to see if I was right. I couldn't find anything to to contrary but am still glad that I asked to make sure I was right. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1